Censorship, Fake News, Alex Jones & Social Media!

in #freedom6 years ago

Alex Jones is trending on Twitter again. Apparently Facebook has begun removing some of his pages and articles.

I'll be honest, I'm not a huge supporter of Alex Jones. Although he covers a wide range of interesting topics, I find his reporting to be sensationalism. I also think there's a huge difference between sensationalism and fake news.

More alarming than Alex Jones's reporting style is the fact that Facebook feels their users are to stupid to discern fake news from real news. For this reason they must "censor" or "block" certain topics or articles to protect the user. This is an extremely dangerous precedent.

I've always despised censorship in all its forms. One of the reasons I never got super involved in social media on mainstream platforms like G+ or Facebook. The fact that the populace gets so upset over a nipple, or an off color comment. Censorship is censorship in any form.

This however is something completely different. The internet is the last true bastion of free speech, and now we have major corporations that will decide what is "true" & what is "false or fake" news. This is extremely dangerous.

For this reason alone it's important to help promote free speech platforms like #Minds & #Steemit. Views, opinions, and news should never be censored. People need to be able to discern the truth for themselves. When we begin to select what is "real news" and what is "fake news" we head down the slippery slope of censorship. We also run the risk of creating massive echo chambers where only "the state" approved narrative is allowed.

Mainstream media already has over paid Ivy League talking heads that regurgitate the approved narrative from a teleprompter. True journalism is dead. We can't allow the same thing to happen on the internet.

Regardless of how you feel about Alex Jones and his sensationalist journalism. We can't allow social media platforms to dictate what the "true" narrative should be. Support & promote censorship resistant platforms like Minds & Steemit.

"I may not agree with what you say, but I shall defend to my death your right to say it"

  • Evelyn Beatrice Hall
Sort:  

Well.... not trying to dis any of my fb fam but.... the majority of them share fake stuff left and right and then get all pissy when you correct them.. so in my personal experience fb isn't too far off... people tend to believe things online because the masses do so more masses follow... I know how to spot fake news and url and how to cross reference what may seem legit but yes people really are gullible... you may not be but there are 100 out there for the one that is not!!!

I agree, but having a "ministry of truth" shouldn't be the solution. This is a huge issue for our time, I just can't accept that censorship is the answer to this problem.

I don't believe in "censorship" as well, but if what one is saying is contributing to the stupidity of the race then..... I mean let's not call that censorship tho.. or a ministry of truth.. and to be totally honest i am not too sure of a suitable word.. i hope you understand where i am going with this tho.

We do have a legal right of free speech.. but we also have a right to be informed.. it is one of those catch 22 situations...

Totally. I completely get what you're saying. I guess my point is where do we draw the line? My only solution would be an online campaign to educate people and teach them how to research and fact check.

I kind of think that is what fb is trying to do but they aren't going about it the correct way... i tried to start a page at one time on fb called fb post busters that whenever i seen someone post some ridiculous post or article i tried to repost it with whether it was fake or not and sources to back it up.. it didnt gain much response lol lol

I think that's another HUGE problem today. People are so passionate about their news and politics they WANT to believe what they WANT to believe as long as if fits in nicely with their approved narrative or comfort level. In some ways, I almost question whether or not people really want the truth or a fabricated story that they're comfortable with or meets their own political agenda. These are truly interesting times we're living in.

I remember as a child I thought they (the commercials and general programs even the news) could not lie on television. My mother had to explain to me it is not against the law. Not to believe everything I see on the TV. Blew my mind.

Maybe some people can't think for themselves and so we get grouped into that.

We are sheeple in many lawmakers eyes. They use fear to steer the masses. I had a common law Atty tell me once, that Some people feel that they will safe once everyone is chained to a tree in their front yard.

I am so glad I have never had FB and when I hear they decide what is truth flags go up.

That is a huge bummer for every child I think when we discover that the TV isn't always truthful. I think it's the first major let down on our journey towards maturity.

A huge part of the current problem is the constant bombardment of fear. The mainstream media pushes the fear agenda, and the fear also ends up online. We've moved away from objective and fact based journalism. Most news outlets today, throw out a couple facts and then pepper those facts with opinion, guiding the viewer, reader or listener in the direction or "spin" they want them to go in.

This seems to create the question of , "Is it news or a constant barrage of propaganda?"

It is strange to see what is going on in this country. I believe we will get through it once some people come to their senses. :)

Totally agree. Still a bit scary though, and definitely concerning..

This guy did a post too...he also says why it is bad..1st amendment under attack.. https://steemit.com/life/@fakeinternetnews/tech-giants-go-full-authoritarian hope you don't mind me putting the link.
he says:
Regardless of what you think about Alex Jones, the boldness of cancelling the First Amendment under the excuse that it was "Hate Speech", is a horrible attack on the United States of America and freedom.

I'm glad to see you speaking on this. I was thinking about writing about it too. It's too important not to. Political speech is the most protected speech of all. I am almost positive this is going to backfire on them as it should.

Your quote by Evelyn Beatrice Hall is what I grew up with. I want my kids to grow up with that same mentality.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83