Quotes From Etienne de la Boétie's Politics of Obedience #04

in #freedom5 years ago

On the subject of Defenders of Tyranny vs. Defenders of Liberty.

20181229_225210.jpgsource

Steem line 2.png

I'm reading Etienne de la Boétie's Politics of Obedience and diving a little deeper into the anarchist, libertarian and agorist ideas... Nothing like reading the works of anarchists from the 1500's!!!!!

Though La Boétie never extended his analysis from tyrannical government to government per se, he perhaps should not be considered an Anarchist but rather someone with Anarchist Tendencies.

I think I may give you a few good quotes from this paper here and there. This quote really is a question of how can a Tyrant's policing troops, who obey only out of greed (job security) can keep living so blinded by comfort that true freedom will always elude them.

Which men do you think would march more gallantly to combat---those who anticipate as a
reward for their suffering the maintenance of their freedom, or those who cannot expect any other prize for the blows exchanged than the enslavement of others?

Doesn't this sound familiar today, in the 21st century? Like I always say… the world hasn't changed very much. Yeah maybe technology and the population count, but other than that… We're still slaves...and most of us are willingly!

AS ALWAYS... THANK YOU FOR LOOKING, YOUR SUPPORT IS GREATLY APPRECIATED

Steem line 2.png

The @EcoTrain has made me very happy and proud to be a part of it, have a look at what other passengers have been writing

If you really want to know what is inside this Coconut, take a look at my Humans Of Steemit.

QUOTE OF THE MONTH: @iamjadeline
Embrace both your strength and weaknesses as they knitted into one you, and you are knitted together with one another. Like in an ocean of planktons, red fish, dolphins and whales, all are knitted to form the ecosystem. So embrace your own life.

(If you want a quote of yours posted here for a month, there will be another contest)

Join Us On Discord

And don't forget… Dreams Come True!

Sort:  

What a great teaser! Every time I read one of your posts on Etienne de la Boétie's writing, I always decide that I MUST look into it myself. It sounds super exciting, and yes, as you said, it bears strong resemblance to the present. But what do you mean anarchist tendencies? What defines (I mean, how do YOU define) anarchism, and why doesn't Boétie fit the bill?

Ouch... defining anarchism in my own words! Well, in my case I would have to speak on the behalf of peace and respect for one's property (mental, physical and spiritual). I never liked the idea of being told how to live my life. I think no one should be forced to do something they don't want to do. The use of violence without being attacked first is cowardly. And as for "property" well, don't steal my shit and no one gets hurt! It's simple really, don't hurt and don't steal.

To me, governements do just that and I would like to see it gone. If living communally (like on this multi-family homestead we're building, for example) we will not be without rule, but we will have to agree to the Golden Rule...

As for Etienne, he apparently never speaks of abolishing government, only tyrannical leaders. That does make me think that with the description of my anarchy, all governments are tyrannical!!!

I could not agree more. Rulership is essential, but it's important to know who rules. I've always known that the best person to rule over me is myself, and hence I'd identify myself as an "autoarch" or self-ruler. (Though I don't like to use this term, as it sounds too much like autocrat, never mind that kratos means power in Greek, and arkhon ruler.)
As for Etienne, I'm sure for his time even a constitutional monarchy, or a representative democracy would have been a hardly conceivable step forward, so I couldn't blame him for not going all the way. By the way, this isn't true either! Iceland at that time was ruled by the "Alting", the closest form of direct democracy in Europe (or elsewhere, as far as I know). But just like now, it was pretty much out there, far from the shipping routes, out of sight, out of mind.

Ah yes Icland is out there for sure and out of mind too!

I like self governance and I also real like the concept of do-ocracy, especially when working as a group on a project... whatever it is, could be maintaining the house people live in together or a construction site. If you see that something needs doing than do it. It works rwally well when we build and maintain pur burning man camps for example.

I thought we were on the same brain waves 😁. Hope you're good and warm on Mexico. Later!

By the way, it's a short book and easy to find online. I'm just slow reading it with tons of other things I'm doing. Thanks for paying attention to these posts 😁!

Great quote. When America forgets its role promoting, nurturing, and yes even fighting for freedom, it is truly lost

I'm not dure I can agree with your statement on America fighting for freedom. What did you mean exactly, because I see war abroad when I read this?

And absolutely no offense to any veterans or troops out there, but if you're fighting you're sort of in the tyrant's payroll and not really helping Human Freedom as in the natural law of life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17