Land Of The Free… HA!

in #freedom6 years ago

1414841295864.cached.jpg

Land Of The Free… HA!

We live in country
that claims to be free
but each day that passes
it gets harder to see

government getting bigger
always cracking down
even society likes
to throw its weight around

our freedom of speech
falls on deaf ears
say something they don't like
and nobody hears

the right to our bodies
is not set in stone
just mention abortion
and they change their tone

how about drug use
medicinal or not
they even freak out
over a little goddamn pot

gambling online
whats the big deal
it may not be Vegas
but its got its appeal

the puritanical need
to control our lives
the hypocritical way they
believe their own lies

as long as we play
the game by their rules
just follow the herd
like a bunch of damn fools

pay all their taxes
pretend we have a voice
but when push comes to shove
we don't really have choice

all throughout history
we've fought to just be
and created this place
we call the --
land of the free…HA!


Image Source: 1

Sort:  

"Free," indeed...

Nice verse, BUT... actually, I was just on the receiving end of "freedom" when I discovered I couldn't set up a crypto merchant account for my store here in this state. Ooops... there went another freedom...

It's funny how this thing we call "freedom" works.., they just keep slipping away --:))

Amazingly well written :)

Thanks... :))

those words are true as gold !!!

You got that right!!!

I don't live in the USA neather I have ever been there but I feel you man :) I understand you.

Thanks for the thought... :))

I just love that ''ha'' from the end <3 Great job

Yeah.., it's kind of funny -- all these "freedoms."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88