What does "Freedom" mean to you?

in #freedom7 years ago

Freedom - that word has many meanings. It seems everyone understands something different by it.

Traditionally Freedom meant the absence of (personal) slavery.


pic cc0

More recently things like freedom of speech and freedom of press embody the meaning of freedom.

For some freedom is the total abolishment of any state like structure.

For others the state is necessary to allow them to be free, a protection against people who want to take away the freedom.

Some say freedom is the total free market, not hindered by any rules by a third party.

Others may answer that this is not freedom but slavery and to be free means to be able to not participate in the (labor) market at all.

But what does Freedom mean for you?

Fire fighters fight fires.
Crime fighters fight crimes.
What do freedom fighters fight?

footer.jpg

Sort:  

Freedom for me means being free to think, say and do as I please without some busybody trying to police my existence.

What do you mean by policing?

I mean the politically correct culture that permeates every facet of our modern lives.

So you say it's okay to be rude or downright insulting to someone because your freedom to say those things is more important then their dignity?

Or what do you mean? Please give a few examples.

I'm not advocating to go out of your way to be insulting but I think nowadays feelings take too high a priority over common sense and facts. Take the recent Manchester attack: the media go out of their way to not mention the religion and ideology of the perpetrator for fear it will hurt the feelings of other people with the same faith, rather than face up to the fact that the suicide bombing WAS carried out in the name of a religious ideology and that there are hundreds more radicals in my country ready to see it burn. If I say any of this in the street I would be labelled a racist, a bigot and a hate monger. I want to live in a world where facts matter more than feelings.

Lennstar,
For me freedom is the ability to live my life the way I want to, with as little outside control/interference as possible. I've gotten pretty close to my ideal life, and want to help others achieve it too. That's why I started publishing my FreerTomorrow posts.

Check out what I've posted here at STEEMIT. I would love your feedback.

--Bill (FreerTomorrow)

Where do you draw the line to outside interference?

I don't know that I have a specific line to draw. I lean to a libertarian philosophy of "You do whatever you want and I will do whatever I want, as long as neither of us hurts others or infringes on someone else's rights."

Good question and topic to talk about. I think Freedom is a feeling where you can express and be whatever you feel you want to be or whatever where. It have no boundaries or regulations it's like an air. Natural and so obvious that you don't even think about it. It just should be out there easy to reach. But because Money rule the world we will never experience that kind of Freedom.

You would propose freedom is the absence of money then?

I meant that because of greed and Money they are wars, boundaries that don't let us feel free. No matter were you will go or from which country you come from there is still many issues where people can feel free. ( There is many other issues ... people who have need to posses stuff and others.. etc. etc. ). I think as long Human Nature exist there were never a chance for us to really feel freedom. We always find a way to capture free spirits.

3 comments 2 upvotes. Seems other people forget to upvote when commenting, too :D

Unconditional expression of soul.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87