SIMPLE SOLUTIONS - BEING PRACTICAL FOR FREE

in #free6 years ago

Often, these are the best solutions on the homestead.


Personally, I don't exactly need to have the best. If something works, then it works. My old truck gets us around just fine, and we wouldn't get places any more, or any less, in an expensive vehicle. In the end, we would still get there.

LET'S FIGURE IT OUT!

Recently, I needed a feed trough for our Jacob's Sheep. Animals like this really shouldn't be eating directly off the ground, since that increases the possibility of them getting parasites. Since their manure falls to the ground, you do not want them to accidentally eat their own feces. The first thing I do in a situation like this is to look around at resources and figure our what design would work best.

IMG_2566.JPG

For other sheep or goats, shallow buckets would work. However, because of the large horns of the Jacob's Sheep, a feeding trough was going to work best. I had acquired a few "junk" boards from a neighbor that he was just going to burn, so I thought that they might be a good a start. Also, I still have some discarded screws that I found at the recycling center. It looked like this was basically going to be a free solution, which are the easiest kind to fit into the budget.

IMG_2569.JPG

Just by making a few cuts in the boards and screwing them together I had a functional feeding trough. This was just supposed to be a quick, easy, and free temporary solution. I do not plan on being able to use this trough for years to come, but just by investing a few minutes creating it I've got a temporary solution. My next idea, which should last for many years, will require significantly more effort, although I think I've got the necessary resources to make it for free too!

The sheep were able to use it, and although they might not understand all of the reasons that I made it for them, they'll appreciate the effects of it anyway. Personally, I enjoy the opportunities to think, create, and experiment that my current lifestyle gives me. I may never win a craftsmanship award for a project like this, but I still enjoyed it.

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:

IMG_2575.JPG
proof-of-free-feeding-trough

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

What a pleasant and challenging way of living.
At the end we all learn that you do not need a lot of materials thing to enjoy life.
Observe nature.
Keep on steemin'

Good job!....:)...

You are the Proof master. You have proofs for everything you do. The proof of free feeding trough got me laughing.

I may never win a craftsmanship award for a project like this, but I still enjoyed it.

The most important thing is that you made a trough for them. At least in the time being, they will be happy and feed well.

I made a #mancrushmonday post for you in my blog. You have inspired me in many ways. I admire everything you do here @papa-pepper

LOL - Yeah, those proofs are still making people laugh! I'll check it out. Thanks!

You made a post. .. go girl @gee1 👍👍👍😁

Personally, I don't exactly need to have the best. If something works, then it works. My old truck gets us around just fine, and we wouldn't get places any more, or any less, in an expensive vehicle. In the end, we would still get there.

Goal is to start and keep improving. One may not know the end from the beginning until he starts. Inspiring resolve @papa-pepper

Good point and thanks for the encouragement!

Very nice and amazing content of yours

Looking at all what you have been able to do by yourself, your efforts and the way you always improvise, you will always win my craftsmanship award.
Honestly, I love the way you live your life. You don't believe in luxury as long as what you have can do the job. You have also make sure you make the best use of what you have. Nothing is a waste to you.
I've learnt alot from you and my orientation has changed a lot since I started following your blog.

On this, you have done a great job. You have turned what many people will tag not useful to something useful. I'm sure the animals will also appreciate it

you will always win my craftsmanship award.

Thank you @fatherfaith! I'm glad that you like my style!

There isn't much better you can do for a feeding trough.
If you had new wood, it would look just the same in a couple months.

One of the best feeders i have seen was made by cutting a water heater tank in half (the inside part), and then had a couple of legs welded to it.

May your ideas never run dry

You are correct about that!

This is amazing

@papa-pepper full of great ideas as always. May your ideas never run dry Papa #smiles

May your ideas never run dry

Thank you for that!

practical and cost-effective ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28