Angie Learns Fractal Art - #2 - Let's Take A Look At the Steemit Fractal World

in #fractal6 years ago (edited)

Hello Dear Fractal Steemian Fam,

I know I promised we'd look at the first important step to create fractal art.

As I wrote in the title I'd chosen before for said post, I realized it would be a good idea to explore what fractal art is.

Especially as we are at the beginning stage of learning how to create it.

I will not be showing you the fractal art that impressed me. I want the fractal creators who are kind enough to share their art with us here at Steem to benefit from their work.

And I have no intention of playing accountant. Plus I'm not even sure it would be legal to show their art work.

So here's what we're going to do, you and I.

If you want to explore fractal art with me, we'll be doing it right here and in another series I've been mulling that I am finally ready to start publishing.

But in both cases, I will only take a teeny tinyyyyy little itsy bisty corner of the total art piece and then link to the artist's work.

Then you can visit the post, adore the art work, try to interpret it, love it up, hate it a bit if you feel like... whatever the art brings up for you.

And then do the artist the honor of sharing how you feel about their art.

I've been an artist since I was a child and then later, I sold my art work. And I know how important it is to get feedback, the good, ugly or freaky.

Every artist, every creator, including yourself, loves feedback. And I think, if we're all honest, we want feedback that helps us to grow and go deeper in our work.

So in addition to finding something to love and adore, ask the artist a question about what was created. Find out why s/he used that shade of blue there in that tiny triangle thingy there.

Start a conversation. Make your trip even more meaningful and truly engage with the artist.

Re,e,ber you're a creator now already if you're posting and commenting here on Steemit. And if you're not yet a creator of art work specifically, you soon will be if you stick with me on this journey to learn how to create fractal art.

So whenever I share some piece of art that I liked or maybe even couldn't figure out and request your help with that, go over to pay a visit, dive into the piece of art and what the artist was communicating and converse with the artist via the comments.

Then come back here and let me know what you think about the art you saw. You'll be making new friends in the art world and we'll all be learning from the insights you bring back and share.

So the plan was to share a few fractal art pieces that I liked but I've promised myself to start writing shorter posts.

I'm going to link directly to two posts only now. And I'm not going to do any itsy bitsy icon to click from.

I'll just link via the artist's text title and you can click directly over there... just perhaps open the link in another browser by right clicking and choosing 'open in new browser tab' or some such.

Ok, here are the two picks I made. One to enjoy and one is a contest that you can enter. It features a piece of fractal art and all you need to do is share what you think of it via a story, notes or whatever:

This piece is entitled Fractal of the day 180306 and it's by @rndness222.

And here the fractal writing contest hosted by @nyarlathotep on a weekly basis.

Enjoy and remember to let both the artist and me know (when you get back) if you liked them in the comment section below.

Talk soon,

Angela

PS Don't just tell us if you liked the art. Share what exactly came to heart and mind while viewing it. That's what the artist will LOVE to hear. ;)



Before you forget...

Be sure to get front row seat access to all my new posts, be that:

  • Inspirational morning centering via breathing meditations or galactic toning

sound healing

  • Quotes with my personal insights
  • End of Day Accountability Confessions
  • Or any thing critical or just juicy here on Steemit. I resteem as many of the

current cutting edge announcements that I find in addition to posts that float my quirky boat.

The easiest way stay on top of all my new shares here on Steemit to set-up your own personal artificial intelligence GINABot tool to send you notifications of my new posts as they hit Steemit's news stand.

Here's how to add me:

And if you're not yet using the free GINAbot tool, here's how to get her on your team, tirelessly working for you 24/7/365).


Check out some of my recent posts:

Angie Learns Fractal Art - #1 - Introduction - Why Fractal Art and Why Now

End of Day Accountability Journal - Reflections On How My Day Went - Thursday, March 1, 2018

7-Day Build Your Steemit Profits Weekly Accountability Challenge

End of Day Accountability Journal - Reflections On How My Day Went - Tuesday, February 27, 2018

Check out some of my older posts -

your comments are ALWAYS welcome but please don't waste your steem power upvoting... consider upvoting the newer ones above that you like:

Pounded Steemit Doors With Open Sesame Mantra Until Y'all Let Me In!!!

Happiness Quotation - Dalai Lama




Sort:  

Comment edited. Sorry for disturbance.

You got me!

Been considering trying my hand at fractal art for a while now but hadn't quite got my act together :)

I am always open to learn and wonder will you be sharing your fractal learning with us all?

Lazy here thinks I could just ride on your coat-tails!!

Off to check out the links and will add to this comment in a bit.

(Here is one of my recent digital collages for your delectation! I have been considering fractal backgrounds for further work).

Angel Little one.jpg

Great initiative.

xox

@rndness222 ~ Reminds me of the mystery of life/microscopic spores/magnificent mould et al.

@nyarlathotep ~ Love the idea of an interpretive contest. The composition was complex and well balanced but I missed the eye popping colour :)

Linda,

Great to have your company! I think we'll have fun with this.

I am always open to learn and wonder will you be sharing your fractal learning with us all?

YES, absolutely! That's what I was hoping would happen when I decided to start this series. Company to learn fractal art. Especially so we can Q&A our way through techie stuff...

Thanks so much for supporting the featured artist and commenting. Feedback is so lovely.... speaking of which what an inspiring piece of art you shared.

Love the color choices and the feel of it all. GREAT to have found a fellow artist and Angel whisperer. ;)

Hi Angie! ... I'm quite excited for you. I did a very similar thing when I started my journey into fractal art. I created a blog and recorded my learning process so that others could learn with me as I go. You can see that at mandelubber.blogspot.com =)

I'll be watching your journey with interest. I'm jealous that you've managed to sell art before. I've been doing this for a few years now and have only sold one piece - a small commission.

Oh and about sharing images... It's usually fine to do so, even complete images of the artwork, as long as you credit back with a link =) .. At least I personally wouldn't mind if you showed my artwork off ;P

Good luck in your fractal adventure!

Hi, @mandelsage!

I'm quite excited for you.

Wow! Thank you!!! I'm loving it already and haven't really started yet. j;)

mandelubber.blogspot.com

It's amazing that you documented your fractal art journey too. Will be studying your blog. ;)

I've been doing this for a few years now and have only sold one piece - a small commission.

Keep going. And I always advise artists to develop a print line. I did that and it helped as an easy to sell first item for new buyers. I think your fractal art would make wonderful prints and digital pdf products.

Isn't there some kind of Steemian shop thingy? Plus do you sell on Etsy? I think Etsy would be another great online place for sales and it's fairly easy to set up a shop with their tutorials and the ones on Youtube.

Do one or two videos every week showing a LITTLE excerpt of you creating your art and upload to Youtube to promote. Also consider setting up a paid membership site where your members can download a digital art piece once every week or fortnight.

Let me know when your shop and/or membership is open and I'll promote you here and via FB/Twitter. ;)

Thanks again! Your art was what pushed me over the edge from mulling this series to starting to publish.

Oh, I'm so so happy that my art had that effect on you!! ... And thank you for this wonderful, caring comment. I used to be on Society6, but decided to take my art off of there because I want to sell prints in limited editions series, you know? So I felt like putting my art on mugs and pillows somehow would be cheapening it. Although I have done many more pieces for my "Designs" gallery, which might be appropriate for that kind of thing now =)

There is one place you could help me promote, if you don't mind ^^ ... I have a Patreon page: patreon.com/mandelsage

I have 0 patrons, lol, because I've never been good at self-promotion.

Thank you again!

A new and fascinating world The first thing that popped into my mind when I looked at the fractal in both posts you shared was -- that looks like the interior of my mind.

I wonder if I dare give fractal art a try. My mind is racing in circles and all around me is clutter and chaos. For one thing, my glasses are really smudged so everything looks murky.

For another thing, I folded 2 loads of laundry last night and they are stacked on every surface in the room. And also, we're packing to head back to Canada.

The connection between fractal art and clutter is only because I don't yet understand fractals...but I can see that they are ordered and calm, now that I look more closely.

I must go and clean my glasses. And possibly put away the laundry.

that looks like the interior of my mind.

Ha haaa!!! I LOVE that! Mine too!!! ROFL

I wonder if I dare give fractal art a try.

Of COURSE you dare. You're a daring lady! ;)

Housework. Humbug. It's PEI, right, Joanne? If so, my daughter is there. Good luck with packing and travelling when it's time for that. And happy writing. You're steeming up the place with Xenobia's three episodes already and now two new ones around the corner. Wow!!! Again, SOOO very proud of you, fellow author bud. xox

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05