You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Histoire de ma vie jusqu’à ce jour - Épisode 45 - Août 1973, Vacances au Cameroun

in #fr6 years ago

OK - now I'm going a little more off topic (sorry, curious). I can understand why you might say that Jersey isn't a country (protectorate) but Mauritius, a Republic within a Commonwealth sounds like it's own country. The handover of power from British rule/ granting of independence sounds very much like Canada's, which officially nodded a head at Queen Elisabeth up until some few years ago, when I was in my 20's. There a bunch of other recognized countries within the British Commonwealth so I'm not certain I understand what the difference is.

Sort:  

I can understand why you might say that Jersey isn't a country (protectorate) but Mauritius, a Republic within a Commonwealth sounds like it's own country.

Yes, I agree, Mauritius is a country, I did not say it was not one.

What I said is that in their laws, there is no official language, meaning the government documents do not need to be written in English and in French, while, at the federal level, it is compulsory in Canada and in Cameroon.

I misunderstood. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66361.53
ETH 3253.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.43