Disproportionate Desires - One Paragraph Short Story

in #foxtales6 years ago

She had practiced these poses for hours. The perfect look of waiting for a surprise, her lips parted, inviting. The shy giggling laugh, peeking between her fingers. Her blossoming smile forming soft creases around happy eyes. She had never wanted it this badly before. Boys came and went, without ever catching her interest. He was different, the pull he held over her ran through her heart like a trembling string. She normally held them at arm’s length, ducking and bobbing to avoid the inevitable feelings they picked up. Not this one. She wanted him to love her. She wanted him to be sweet, to laugh with her, to hold her in his arms as he kissed the top of her head. She dreamt of him, she woke up thinking of him, he left her weak inside. It took all of her self-restraint not to fall irrevocably in love. He was so perfect to her. She wanted him so much, yet he treated her with such easy nonchalance. She knew she should act a part, play it cool, but she couldn’t, she couldn’t resist the urge to be real with him. She couldn’t hold back being herself. He lit her up, gave life to her smile. She never expected him to offer to take her out for her birthday. It was the best present she could have hoped for, him wanting to spend time with her. She normally felt like she was pestering him to see her, but he had said he wanted to plan her a surprise. Her heart was pounding in her chest as she recreated the practised pose her eyes covered, mouth open waiting. Electric tingled through her lips, please, she uttered, a silent prayer to an unknown god, please let it be a kiss.

This is my first entry to @vermillionfox 's one paragraph story contest

I have gone in quite different directions with the different entries this week, but with this one, it may be fair to say I have been listening to too many Sickick's songs about irresistible boys with all the control, what can I say, spread the Sickness

Check out all the entries under the tag #foxtales

Artwork by the wonderful @vermillionfox as part of her prompt

Sort:  

Girl, you got this, awesome work, I'm rooting for you ;)

Wooo thank you so much! I am not normally big into the romance, (or any version of a love story that doesn't end in bloodshed) so I am still getting used to writing about this sort of this, very glad you still liked it!! It is a lot of fun to force myself out of my comfort zones, I did go with my normal sort of story for the final entry, but I won't post that until tomorrow so as not to flood people ;)

Well written. I like how it manages to read like a coming-of-age story.

Personally I'm not a great fan of the whole "one paragraph" thing, but your piece was very enjoyable.

Thank you, this one is so far away from the sort of thing I would normally write. I am amazingly flattered that you liked it! I really wasn't so keen on this one, and totally thought it had missed the mark! I very nearly went with a different story entirely, so glad I didn't :)

I do find the limitations frustrating at times, but the one paragraph aspect gives me the chance to try new styles or genres I wouldn't normally touch for anything which is good practice from a writing perspective.

You really captured that teenage yearning love feeling in this story calluna. I used to fall hard in love with girls, much like you describe in this story, when I was a teenager so I can relate. I've never tried any of the constrained writing contests on steemit so I'm tempted by reading your great offering. Good luck 🙂

Wow thank you! I really hadn't thought a lot of this one, and romance is not a strong suite for me, so to have writers I respect tell me they liked it is wonderful!! Thank you!

I would highly recommend giving it a go, I find being able to submit three entries means I tend to go for one that is more my normal sort of thing, then try and go for something I wouldn't normally write about for the others which (hopefully) gives me chance to work on areas I am not so used to.

That is a great way to look at it. I might do one more entry as I have just published my first one which completely was influenced both by your entry, which I had just read, and the prompt picture. I think that picture does lend itself to romance which is not my style usually, also, but that is what ended up emerging from my brain lol. Maybe I'll try and stretch myself on the next attempt and see if I can find SciFi from that prompt picture.

I managed a horror with this one, but not a scifi, I came close with an idea but it just didn't shape up right, that is the fun of the challenge though! I can't wait to see what else you come up with :)

PLEASE CHECK THE UPDATED USER GUIDE
Released on: May 14th

As a friendly reminder, the current upvote fee is $0.12 SBD ($0.121 for incognito). Current 300%+ upvote is now $0.36+ SBD.

Join our 10 SP Challenge!!!

Simply click this link to delegate 10 SP Now!

Or delegate any of these other amounts and make a "striking" return on your investment!
50 SP --- 100 SP --- 200 SP --- 500 SP --- 1000 SP

That being said...

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with a 300% upvote, comment and resteem from @thundercurator.

Increase your chances of a 100% upvote and support the project by:

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63811.67
ETH 3092.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86