Cooking with Kids: Strawberry Crepes (004)

When your kids just want something sweat to eat and you can't say no there are always Crepes.

20180128_183107.jpg

Picked my youngest up from church as my oldest had to sing in a second service so my Wife was staying with her. As we were driving I asked what she wanted for lunch and she said Crepes. After a short discussion we decided on Strawberry crepes as long as the store had good strawberries, they can be hit or miss in the winter around here.

But we wanted to go all out and have a filling. Heck if you're eating desert for dinner you might as well do it right. So we decided on a lemon cream cheese filling.

This isn't a quick meal by any means. There is a lot of prep and cooking the crepes takes a fair amount of time, but it's a fun meal with the great reward of smiling kids (and my Wife).

There are 2 parts to this recipe, the Crepe and the Filling. My suggestion is to make the filling first and put it in the fridge while you make the crepes.

Ingredients:

Crepes Batter:
3 eggs
1/2 cup 2% milk
1/2 cup water
3 tablespoons butter, melted
3/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 (8 ounce) package cream cheese, softened

Lemon Filling
1 1/4 cups sifted confectioners' sugar
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1 teaspoon lemon zest
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup heavy cream, whipped
4 cups sliced strawberries

20180128_170610.jpg

Blend the cream cheese, confectioners' sugar, lemon juice, lemon zest, and vanilla with an electric mixer until smooth.

20180128_172127.jpg

20180128_172326.jpg

20180128_172640.jpg

As you can see the filling already tastes great and this was 100% done by my 8 year old. She then quickly mixed the whipping cream.


Gently fold in the whipped cream.

20180128_172831.jpg

**I highly suggest putting a metal mixing bowl in the freezer along with the beaters an hour before you start cooking. This will make whipping the heavy cream much easier.

The filling is now done and can be placed into the Fridge until you are ready to use it.


Next we will make our batter for the Crepes. This is really simple and since we just dirtied up the mixer we used our blender for this.

Put the eggs, milk, water, melted butter, flour, and salt in the pitcher of a blender; blend until smooth.

20180128_174800.jpg

20180128_174927.jpg

Super easy, and ready to cook. I poured the batter into a measuring cup that has a pour spout to make it easy to pour into the pan. The first time you cook these I suggest using a measuring spoon and it is about 3 Tablespoons per Crepe.

20180128_175116.jpg

The pan needs to be lightly oiled. The crepe is very thin and needs to be able to flip without ripping so can't stick at all.

20180128_175749.jpg

20180128_175807.jpg

When you put the batter into the pan you need to pick up the pan and tip and rotate it around so the batter spreads thinly across the pan.

Flip once the edges start to brown and the batter is set.

Cook until the other side begins to brown. About 30 seconds per side.

Stack the finished crepes to the side and cover with a damp (not wet) paper towel.


While I'm cooking the crepes my Daughter is working on the Strawberries.

20180128_173755.jpg

20180128_174830.jpg


20180128_182308.jpg

20180128_182312.jpg

20180128_182328.jpg

20180128_182338.jpg

20180128_185244.jpg

Another great dinner made with the assistance of my 8 year old Daughter. She did all the measuring, mixing, and cutting of the strawberries. Then I took care of the actual cooking of the crepes and then turned it back over to my Daughter who took care of putting the filling in each crepe as I folded them.

This was probably about 30 minutes start to finish. Really the longest part is each crepe takes about 1 minute of cook time and then you need to make sure to oil the pan between each one. I made 10 crepes just in case and ruined one that went to the dog (forgot to oil the pan so it ripped in half), so this was probably about 12-15 minutes of time. Then about 12 minutes to mix everything and another 3 minutes to assemble the crepes.


All Photos are taken by thedarkhorse and all rights are reserved. Photos are taken with a Samsung S8+


Thank you for your support. All quality same day comments will be upvoted. Enjoy hearing feedback about my posts, writing style, and photos.

Sort:  

I LOVE that you cook with your kids! You are not only teaching them an awesome skill, but it's a great time to talk with them also. My boys are now almost 20 and 23 and both do the cooking in their relationships! I used to cook with them as soon as they were old enough to hold a spoon, and they both loved it. I also used to find that I would get the best information out of them as teenagers when we were all in the kitchen together. It really makes my heart warm to see your posts with them...and they're pretty darn cute too! Cheers:)
oh, I almost forgot; your post reminded me of "dessert dinners" as my kids called it...pancakes for dinner :) Yours is way more sophisticated though haha

Couldn't agree with you more about it being a great time to talk with the kids and teach them some valuable skills. It's not just about cooking, it helps with math, following instructions, patience, working as a team, communication skills, and more. For such a simple everyday thing there is a lot to be learned by a young child. Think it's truly overlooked as a way to bond with your kids.

My kids call it "Brinner", it's like Brunch except breakfast for dinner.

You are absolutely right; all the skills involved are necessary things in life. And unfortunately, it does get overlooked; probably because it's extra work and messy :) but at the end of the day, it's a pittance compared to the rewards received by children and parents.

Love "Brinner" as well, very clever kids there!

I really think that part of it is they think they are to busy to cook. Seriously I can make most meals in under 30 minutes and that is with working with my kids. It takes me that long to run and grab fast food and get it on the table. The only challenge is making sure you have food in the house.

I got a little drool on my phone case.

A fabulous post with great images and easy instructions. I was cooking with my grandchildren the other day and the pictures of your beautiful daughter was very similar to what I witnessed as they enjoyed taste testing along the way. Good on you for spending time to teach your daughter to cook @thedarkhorse I'm a great believer teaching our kids to cook at an early age. The key is; to make it fun which I believe you succeeded at that. (:

I totally agree @trudeehunter! I know some parents don't want the hassle or the extra clean up, because let's face it, there is that for sure haha, but it is so worth it in the end. I used to love cooking with my kids, and now both boys are awesome cooks and can totally take care of themselves in that regard :)

I had boys too Lynn (3 of the little darlings) but that didn't stop me from teaching them how to cook, clean and take care of themselves too. They learn to appreciate exactly what goes into preparing a meal and how long it takes to clean up etc. They also learn to appreciate their mother's more too. My sons still request their favourite meals or baking when we get together (all are married with their own families) and I love to do that for them.

Thanks for sharing! Looks yummy!!!

Looks delicious and it's wonderful to see happy children. Have a good day :)

Thank you and she is always happy when cooking with me, but loves to taste test as she goes along...lol.

I also upvoted one of your B&W Photo posts. Nice photo!

Thanks. It's quite good upbringing. Children become creative. Wish you all best :)

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

You got a 5.00% upvote from @inciter courtesy of @thedarkhorse!

You got a 14.83% upvote from @buildawhale courtesy of @thedarkhorse!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

Greetings! I am a minnow exclusive bot that gives a 5X upvote! I recommend this amazing guide on how to be a steemit rockstar! I was made by @EarthNation to make Steemit easier and more rewarding for minnows.

Requested by @thedarkhorse

looks so awesome! thanks for sharing! i will start following your exciting posts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63478.09
ETH 3067.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81