My Daddy's Poor Mans Pie A La Mode

in #foodphotography6 years ago (edited)

20180301_161121.jpg

You guys are already starving me to death and I have only been on a few days. I have so many new things I want to make and do. I figured I would just jump in and share a favorite of mine. It is delicious but mostly it sparks sweet childhood memories and reminds me to be Thankful for whatever you have to eat today 😊

This is such an Easy, Peasy dessert when you take a hankering for something sweet and you don’t feel like making a crust, or have some unexpected company drop in. Now Chad and I don’t need a special excuse…we just want something sweet all them time. For those of you who will cringe when you read canned biscuits, you can make your own but that adds time and this is a quick and easy. My Daddy always made this with canned biscuits growing up but we used crescent rolls last night. Dipped them in melted butter then rolled in sugar and baked.

20180301_160928.jpg

Heated some cherry pie filling (use any pie filling or fry up some peaches or apples) and made some whipping cream with my homemade vanilla extract (best ever). Layer the buttery, sugary crescent roll (or biscuit), layer pie filling then pour some evaporated milk over and top with a dollop of whipped cream.

20180301_160936.jpg

Daddy called it Poor Mans Pie A La Mode cause we didn't usually have ice cream. If you ask me, the evaporated milk tastes like the very best melted vanilla ice cream ever. You won't be disappointed if you try this one! Thanks for checking me out!

Sort:  

Congratulations! This exceptional post has been featured in Episode 13 of The STEEM Engine Express Podcast. Click the link to hear what I had to say, and keep up the good work!

Mmmmm yummy! I love simple sweet desserts! It’s true we should be thankful for the things we do have to eat. We are teaching our kids this now. I love crescents and I have never used them for a dessert, only a side for our dinner. I will definitely try this but only with strawberries instead since I’m not a big fan of cherries. Thanks for sharing this recipe :) Resteeming so I can refer back to this!

Strawberries are amazing. Just like strawberry shortcake but on sugar biscuits. We had these at a bonfire one night and they were incredible. Fried the sugar biscuits in an iron skillet on the fire and then topped with berries and cream.... so good it'd make a tadpole smack a Whale :) Thank you for the Resteem! I hope you love them!

LOL!

so good it’d make a tadpole smack a Whale!

Haa! That is too hilarious! Oh my goodness fried biscuits sound sooo good! I think when you add anything with strawberries and cream you’re in for a treat!!! Okay now I’m gonna have to do the fried biscuits too!!! 😋

Can't always have everything from scratch! Sometimes you just need some canned crescent rolls! Lol

I know, right :)

I like desserts! Your dessert looks yummy. Possible to share the recipe as well? :)

Sure. If you make it like we did, you will need the following:
Can of refridgerated biscuits, crescent rolls or make your own biscuits
Pie Filling, either your own canned or purchased or fry peaches, apples, etc
1 cup whipping cream
1/8 cup sugar for the whipped topping
1 can evaporated milk
1/2 stick butter melted
1/4 cup sugar for rolling crescents or biscuits in

Prepare the crescent rolls just like you were going to put directly in oven, but roll in melted butter and then roll in 1/4 cup sugar. Bake according to package. You can use a canned pie filling or some you have canned yourself. You could fry up apples or peaches and used for the fruit topping also. Heat up your choice of those. Mix the whipping cream and 1/4 cup sugar in a bowl. We used a manual whipper and worked it until a peak formed. You can also use a fork or a whisk. Be patient it takes a few minutes.
When your biscuits or crescents are baked we take two and add the fruit topping, add a layer of evaporated milk from the can and top with your whipping cream. Enjoy!

Well. Quick and easy and the death of my diet :) It looks so easy and I can tell it really tastes good. Mom used the 'evaporated milk' idea on us as kids. It really is good.

Thanks for a just great idea.

You are welcome! Yeah, definitely not low fat. We don't have it often but boy it is satisfying when we do. I guess evaporated milk poured on your pie might sound icky to some, but we grew up on it and I love it still. These are things you might usually have at the house too and can throw together.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 14:08:08
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 10.10/100.00
Total Photos: 2
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Oh this takes me back!!! My mom used to make us something similar. She'd use Bisquick to make little biscuits ad she'd sprinkle cinnamon sugar on top then cover it with strawberry jam or blueberry sauce she'd make from my aunt's farm up north--- sooooo good!

OH my Gosh, Yes! That sounds delish. Mamaw used to fry apples in the iron skillet and make drop biscuits for us to eat the apples on top of. She just didn't roll them in sugar :( We did butter the biscuits real good though. Great Memories!

Oh man!!! Fried apples! YES! With homemade caramel sauce on top too! Dang! Now I need to get out my index cards that my mom gave me find some of gramma's recipes!

Looks delicious. I will take some of that Poor Mans Pie! haha

Its the shiznit :)

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 14:03:56
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 5.05/100.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

that sure looks yummy. I too like to make sweets

Thank you! I like to make them too but its hard when there are only two of us. We do not need to eat the whole thing :) I usually try to freeze half of cakes or pies and homemade bread.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59159.44
ETH 2522.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47