Football Finger Foods: What's your Go-To on Gameday?

in #foodphotography6 years ago (edited)


This weekend I decided to prepare a smallish amount of something I really like but haven't made in a while...Bacon-Wrapped Jalapeno Taco Poppers! I just had to make an early batch for myself before everyone starting knocking on my door.

So let's get 'em made and in the oven!

Step 1: Shell your peppers

Really any type of pepper would work with this, I just normally prefer jalapeno or habanero peppers with it. Simply chop off the top of the pepper and gut it.

Once I had all of my peppers hollowed out I added a small amount of cheese sauce on the bottom before adding the rest of the toppings.

Earlier I cooked some ground beef about 3/4 through, drained the fat then added the taco seasoning packet and some water. Reheat to a soft boil then reduce heat to 1/3. Stir as needed until done.

Once the taco meat was ready, I spooned it into the jalapenos and my mouth started watering.

Last but not least was the proverbial 'icing on the cake.' I took bacon out and cut the strips in half before wrapping the peppers. I did use thick cut bacon because that's all I had. After they were neatly wrapped in raw tasty pork, I sprinkled a bit of brown sugar on top of each one before stabbing them with a toothpick to hold it all together.

I popped them in the oven at 415 and set the timer to 20. Alarm sounds so I check the tray and the bacon isn't quite cooked through enough so I left it in for another 5-7 minutes. The results of my munchie-induced labor in the kitchen before kick-off...
photos captured with Samsung Galaxy S7 - ©2018

They were tasty and didn't last long after being put on the table. However, next time I'll probably use regular cut bacon so the pepper shells don't get too soft....I like 'em a bit crunchy.


Thanks for stopping by!

follow me @liberty-minded
find me on Scorum @liberty-minded

until next time...

Sort:  

Looks very tasty. Thanks for sharing @liberty-minded. Mine is traditional hot wings :)

you can never go wrong with a classic like hot wings!

@liberty-minded Oh yea! That's what I'm talkin about right there! Looks awesome brother, I bet they flew off the plate about as fast a Tyreek Hill punt return eh?

thanks bud, they were gone almost right after I put them on the table!

No doubt they flew off the table! I think it's awesome all the bacon wrapped recipes that are out there. The one you made looks amazing...I'll have to try it. Thanks for the recipe!

Thanks @steem-samiam! I'll definitely be making those more frequently, I forgot how good they are!

You're sharing, right? Because YUM!

I'll send one through the blockchain!

Looks yummy, I am sure it does taste also the same

thanks @nainaztengra, they were certainly delicious!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Liberty-Minded from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94