Food Blog: Summer 'Must Eat' Food in South Korea! Cold Buckwheat noodles & Mandu

in #foodphotography6 years ago (edited)

How would you like to describe your summer? Chilling by the beach, sipping on an ice cold beer or soaking up the unlimited sunlight at your garden? Well, I would definitely choose to have a cold 'Naengmyeon', followed by some Mandu to complete my day. Perfectly while I was in Korea, I came across this excellent restaurant selling their signature cold buckwheat noodles and their home-made crunchy dumplings. All I could say is that this noodle is one of the best meal I had in Korea and is the winning dish that made me want to travel to Korea again.


If you're wondering or doubted how it's going to taste like, all I can say it's heavenly good. So, what's 'Naengmyeon'?

Naengmyeon is literally translated as cold noodles. Just like Japanese cold soba, Korean has their own unique version of noodles which are typically thin and chewy. This kind of noodle has a completely different texture comparing to Japanese soba even though they both are made out of starchy ingredients like buckwheat.

Korean naengmyeon has a darker colour and it's way chewier due to the arrowroot starch used in producing these noodles. Other starchy ingredients like sweet potatoes and potatoes starch are highly concentrated in producing the noodles. Although there are many variations available throughout Korea, I found that the chewy version noodles have a way better satisfaction to chew. Also, it's way more interesting than an ordinary floppy noodle.


Before heading to Seoul, I've done a very well research of where and what I should be eating here and cold noodles is always on top of the list. As we were strolling around Insadong area, it suddenly strikes me hard that I finally found the cold noodle restaurant that I wanted to try.

I am clear that naengmyeon is originated from Pyongyang, but I also heard that in Seoul, there's also restaurant like Bukchon Sonmandu that does a great job in serving it. Also, did I mention it's also a very well known restaurant here as they own a few other branches all across Seoul. You know it's a good restaurant when you see people queuing up in line for a table, despite the long queues. It took me a good 15 minutes of wait to finally get a table and it was extremely worth it.

Here's why;


I like a restaurant which is quaint and cozy as if I am home for my grandma's cooking. Although this restaurant is not decorated with fancy decorations it definitely is those kinds of restaurant that preserve its authenticity and seek to only serve good food. If you've already noticed, this is a very small family run restaurant which probably fit about 15 people maximum at once. Those old-school metals chairs and wooden tables remind me of my hometown and it's extremely nostalgic.

As soon as we arrive, we instantly noticed the bustling atmosphere where the kitchen is flying out food and servers are so pumped with energy to serve and clear tables for arrival customers. Also, my anticipation was spiked as I caught a whiff of freshly fried pastry and I couldn't stop hearing the metal clinging sounds from the chopsticks. Instantly, I salivated.


The bubbling mandu in the hot oil is something I could see myself eating all day every day. I mean, maybe not every day but, for sure quite often. Is there anything quite tempting as seeing your food to be cooked right in front of your eye? Honestly, I spent quite some time here standing and looking how she handles those mandu's with care and frying them upon order.


Also, I like how the restaurant doesn't give out the menu and had all the items printed out everywhere around the corner. So, you can just point and choose the food the looks tempting to you. Best part, they'll get your item right without the need for you to speak Korean.


Since its a bar dining style, so basically you're serving yourself everything you need. From the condiments, utensils to drinks, you gotta do it yourself. But what I love the most is that they actually laid down every condiment you ever wanted in your mandu, or noodles like pickled radish, kimchi, vinegar, soy sauce and etc. The best part? It's all free flow! If you have the capacity to finish the kimchi, you can technically do that.

If it's your first time dining in Korea, you'll realize that everything is metal. Unlike the Chinese, metals are widely used here in Korea from your bowls, utensils to all plates, it's all metal. Korean preserves its culture and has been using metal during the olden days because it is believed to be more durable and more hygienic.



After grabbing our side dishes 'Banchan', our first order has arrived. As we know besides the cold noodles, their mandu here is one of the best. So, we couldn't stop me from ordering some steamed dumpling which was wrapped differently like an ordinary dumpling that you can find. It was wrapped with a porcelain translucent dumpling skins with a good amount of pork with chives filling. Although the texture is similar to a normal dumpling, but the taste was absolutely stunning. It tasted clean, fresh and definitely very flavourful. Also, it looks very interesting to be looked at.


With similar filling, we couldn't resist ordering a fried plate of mandu that is crispened fresh out of the stove. If you're expecting a wow factor in this simple looking dumpling, they definitely able to fulfill your wish. It's crispy, chewy, flavourful, greasy and super satisfying. It is so crunchy and crackly, juices were overflowed on every bite and it's gone so quickly without us even realized it. As for the highlight, our naengmyeon arrived so beautiful place right in front of us shortly after we placed our order.


I am lying if I said I haven't tried any naengmyeon before, but it's true that this is the best bowl of naengmyeon I have ever had. For me, a bowl of good naengmyeon, it must fulfill the three-factor that I established. The noodles have to be cooked perfectly where it's not too hard, it's chewy but not overly chewy. The broth must be cold yet flavourful and refreshing tasting. Lastly, the ratio of noodles to broth has to be on point.

Well, I am no professional eater but these are my criteria and I am happy to say that it fulfills every requirement that I just mentioned. It's flavourful, refreshing and the portion is just perfect. I especially love the way the broth taste. It's light but packed with kimchi sour flavor and has a trace of sesame flavor from the toasted grounded sesame in the broth. The noodles are caught up together and it catches the broth so well with every bite.

I bet you'll be surprised they actually used the radish leaf instead of cucumbers as a topping. Just as you thought radish leaf is not edible, now they have proven you wrong and it tasted extremely good, juicy and crunchy at the same time.

Overall, I really do love this restaurant I do hope you guys can give it a try. Let me know how you like it and I'll leave the address of the restaurant below.

Restaurant Details:

Name: Bukchon SonMandu

Address: 153-1 Insa-dong, Jongno-gu, Seoul, South Korea

 


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://explorernations.vornix.blog/2018/08/15/food-blog-summer-must-eat-food-in-south-korea-cold-buckwheat-noodles-mandu/

Sort:  

Might be heading to Korea this September so I'll have to give this a look into! Gosh this looks delicious. Followed so I can keep up :)

Sounds good! Just drop me a dm on discord, I have some really good recommendation of where to eat and also the exotic food that you must try in Seoul!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-15T10:13:42
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 78.60/100.00
Total Photos: 9
Total comments: 23
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

This post has been manually curated, upvoted and resteemed by our curator. If you think your friend has a piece of good material and wish us take a look at it, feel free to send us any amount of wallet message, we will manually curate and take action according to post quality. Further detail, you may visit our profile. We are currently following #foodphotography, #foodblogresteem and #cn-food, feel free to inform your friend of our existence.

你好,你已被我们人工审查,点赞和转发。如果你还有其他水准之作,又或者是你朋友的作品是水准之作而又被错过了,你可以随意发个钱包信息给我们,数量不拘。我们收到后会审查,根据文章质量采取行动。如果需要进一步了解我们的服务,可以到我们账号去浏览。我们目前会根据 #foodphotography, #foodblogresteem #cn-food 来去找寻高质量的食物有关文章给与点赞和转发。

Thank you so much for the support :)

Yum, looks mouthwatering 😋, looks amazing and delicious ❤️
I love your post, and I would comment something, but I know a little bit English.

Appreciate it very much :) No worries at all, if you want you can speak in your own language. I'll just drop it to google translate :D Love to see you here~

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11