PASTA SALAD WITH HOME MADE VEGAN MAYO

in #foodfightfriday5 years ago

image

Wazzup it's foodfightfriday! Checkout my battle against the vegan mayo, not sure who won, I just could not get the it thicker, or increase the viscosity if you are technically inclined. Nevertheless it still tastes pretty close to real mayonnaise, which I can live with. So I think the problem was the type of oil, I used rapeseed oil instead of sunflower oil, I'm going to try that next time.

I put 1/2 cup of rice milk, 1 cup of oil, tablespoon of cyder vinigar with a pinch of salt and a tiny bit of mustard

image

Then I blended it up

image

It wasn't quite thick enough so I chucked it in my heavy duty blender with a can of chickpeas

image

It improved a lot but not as thick as I would like. To make the salad I just chucked some mixed veg and some red pepper

image

Some sour kraut

image

Then some pasta and a few spoons of my mayo

image

And that is my foodfightfriday entry, thanks for stopping by

Sort:  

Looks delicious.
Love the mayo recipe, wrote it down and will give it a try myself.
Will go with the sunflower oil, as you suggested.
Love the ingredients involved with making the mayo, one more condiment you can control the quality of the final product.

Thanks for the info, and thanks to #fff

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

That looks delicious.

Posted using Partiko Android

That is delicious pasta Greg!

I’m not usually a fan of mayo but I have a sneaking suspicion I’d really like this mayo. Great entry @gguy773.

Good luck in Round 21 of
Food Fight Friday
May your contender survive and not be placed in a permanent food coma.
125BBBF8-726F-41EA-BB39-4F1622EE09F8.gif

It sure is nice to you in the #fff kitchen consistently @gguy773, thanks a lot for continuing to bring your gangster chef attack to the platform on Friday’s with us. Your dishes are never dull and well... let’s face it, you’re pretty much a shoe-in each week but that’s another beauty about #fff... we like to spread the #love.

It’s always a pleasure running into on Fridays @gguy773. Enjoy the rest of your weekend, see you soon!

I made mayo once and I used olive oil. Maybe olive oil is a little thicker than the others?? IDK. Either way that is some tasty looking pasta, good luck on figuring out the mayo viscosity mystery. 😉

Thanks I'll try olive oil next.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28