These cloud cupcakes puke rainbows! 😜🌈🧁

in #food5 years ago

Four dozen cupcakes and a three layered cake!

Baking is one area that I wished I excelled in. I imaged that I’d do a decent job cake decorating, that’s until I get into the kitchen and have my bags of frosting beside me! You’d think that it’s easy but it’s much harder than it looks. Correct me if I’m wrong but I believe there’s a buzzfeed video out in the world where artists attempt to cake decorating against a professional. That’s me, I’m that artist...I suck!

For years I’ve taken it upon myself to bake all the goodies for @guthrie’s birthday party. This year was no different from the others. My main goal was to impress the kids with some sugary sweets and improve my own skills. Shoutout to Netflix and all their cooking shows...oh and Pinterest!

I began my journey around 6PM, the day before the party. By 8:30PM, I had finishing baking four dozen cupcakes, had two round cakes in the oven and just tucked @guthrie into bed. His father was at the coffee shop finishing some work and hanging out with friends so I had the entire first floor to myself. Quiet, which was what I needed to I could focus my attention on these cupcakes!

Our kitchen counters were a mess so I had the move this party to the living room. I colored my frosting blue and began piping swirls onto the cupcakes.

I covered and smoothed the cupcakes with a flat metal spatula and then grabbed my white frosting to pipe two clouds on each.

I’m sure everyone’s seen these rainbow cupcakes. They were so easy to make, thanks to the sour candy strips. I only had to cut them in half and that was prepared ahead of time with @guthrie’s help.

For that something ‘special’ I added sugar eyes to the clouds. @guthrie loves them and I find amusing. The clouds look like they’re puking rainbows now! 😆 All 48 of these were finished around 11-11:30PM.

Next up was the cake! It should’ve been easy but there was one major setback. My first cake turned out of the pan beautifully, the second one did not survive. I didn’t grease it enough. My only option was to back another cake. Ugh, I could’ve saved myself the trouble by baking extras but I was so over it! I stayed up another hour to bake, cool, and frost the cake. My original two layered cake up grated to three. If you’re wondering about the dark bits, those are Oreo cookies! I was called to be around 1AM by a worried @kommienezuspadt.

I slept hard knowing that the morning would be chaotic, which it was! I quickly frosted the cake and began packing up party supplies.

Then I started to work on my black frosting. @guthrie asked for a Bendy and the Ink Machine cake. I got the idea to pipe an image of the character. Sounds easy enough but mixing the frosting took forever! I must’ve put in three cups of cocoa powder!

The texture of the frosting changed dramatically. Piping was a nightmare but I got it done! It tasted good too! And that’s that!


What are your feelings towards cake decorating? Love it? Hate it? I’d love to see pictures!

Thanks for stopping by!🦊

Sort:  

Damn you have many tricks in the pocket don't you?! :O
love the rainbow cupcakes! <3

Love the cake! lol

So I was scrolling through the feed and totally thought those rainbows were bacon strips at first. Had to do a double-take! Pretty cool looking, on closer inspection!

And eveyrthing worked out fine in the end, those cupcakes are pretty epic XD Cake looks pretty good too :)

I don't decorate cakes. I barely bake cakes. Actually I try to avoid the kitchen as much as possible, it's much safer for everyone that way XD

Also there's no undo how do people even function

I see that many things have happened to you but you got a fantastic result.
Everything looks so delicious .
Guthrie must have been delighted with your cake.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73