The Tradition of making a Cake named ‘Vassilopita’ and finding the coin as a sign of good fortune for the year to come!

in #food7 years ago

20180115_105026.jpg

In my country we have this Christian tradition to make a pie, which actually tastes like a cake, in New Year’s Eve and cut it in the following days amongst the family members or the working group of people. Inside the cake, we hide a coin, and whoever finds it, is considered to have luck throughout the year. The cake is related to St Vassilios’ (or St Basil’s) name-day, which is celebrated on the 1st day of the year; therefore it is called Vassilopita - that is Vassilios’ Pie.

20180115_104931.jpg

So, a couple of days ago, my mother brought me a Vassilopita (actually she made one for each of her children!) and we cut it at my work amongst my closest friends and co-workers. We usually devote a piece to Christ, one to the house (that is to our division) and then to each member of the family. We make the sign of cross at the beginning and then cut it.

20180115_105929.jpg

So, my mother’s recipe is actually that of a cake; but each house has its own, mainly comprising of eggs, sugar, flour and milk.

20180115_105856.jpg

Ingredients: 5 eggs, 2 cups of white sugar, 1 cup of corn oil, 1 law fat cow’s yogurt, 1 cup of chopped walnuts, 3 cups of all purpose flour in which you mix 3 tsp of baking powder, 1 espresso cup of amaretto liqueur or brandy, 1 pinch of cinnamon powder. Optionally, caster sugar to decorate (about 1 cup). Another idea is to decorate using peeled almonds

20180115_105336.jpg

In a bowl you mix the eggs with the sugar using a hand mixer. You add the corn oil and the brandy. Then you add the yogurt.

In a separate bowl you mix with a spoon the rest of the ingredients: the flour with the baking powder, the cinnamon and the walnuts. In the initial mixture you add little by little the flour mixture and toss slowly.

You bake in the oven at 170C for about 45’. You can check that your cake is ready if you dip a knife in the cake and comes out clean.

While the cake is lukewarm, you sprinkle the caster sugar.

20180115_105132.jpg

I wish you all the best for the years to come; be happy and prosperous! Enjoy!

Sort:  

my saliva is running!

Great post plus pictures. Taste good and I like it. Thank you already share information. I also have articles about food, please look at "Beulangong Soup" The Legend about Culinary from Aceh

Follow me @acehkita

Looks very tasty.

@tikotiko did you find the coin?
Καλή χρονιά

No..no luck for me in 2018!!!

Καλή Χρόνια @tikotiko I wish you all the best but above all I wish you health. Your "Vasilopita" looks delicious, so I was thinking that maybe next year I will have a piece of it (with the coin). ha ha ha ha 😀

Thank you my dear!!!all the best and good luck to all your sports' games!!

I hear in many cases they put in bitcoins. Happy new year. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63578.28
ETH 2600.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83