Suddenly a Mushroom Farmer- Pile of Shiitake Logs Sprouting Health Food

in #food6 years ago (edited)

I wondered why my neighbor dumped that pile of logs there, and why the community was now 'stealing' logs from that pile.


IMG_2890.jpg
Shiitake mushrooms

As it turns out, the logs are oak, and they all seem to be growing shiitake mushrooms.

IMG_2898.jpg
pile of shiitake logs

Shiitake; Good For the Health

Despite the crappy name, the shiitake mushroom has been shown to have numerous health benefits, containing lots of vitamins including vitamins A, C, D, and E. These shrooms contain powerful antioxidants, and have been shown to have anti-inflammation and anti-cancer effects, while they can also lower blood pressure.

IMG_2902.jpg

So it was that I liberated about six of these shiitake logs from the pile, and then looked around the garden for my materials to build a tiny mushroom farm, expanding the edible forest.

IMG_2901.jpg

This plastic staircase riser might be perfect to keep the logs separated and off of the ground, so that they don't become infested with other mushrooms.

Once the logs are set up, I will only need to splash water on them occasionally when the weather is dry, for a perpetual supply of shiitake mushrooms.

IMG_2894.jpg
IMG_2895.jpg

It has been estimated by someone that these logs will produce for a few more years if kept properly.

IMG_2897.jpg

INTERESTING SHIITAKE GROWER'S TIP:
When starting new oak logs plugged with shiitake spores, if for some reason the mushrooms won't sprout, the farmer can soak the log in cold water, then thump the log with a hammer.
IMG_2896.jpg
Nobody is sure why the concussion on the wood inspires the mushrooms to sprout. One good theory is that the shrooms feel the vibration and sprout on the chance that the 'thump' was another oak tree falling nearby in the forest, and they are readying themselves to spread out through the ecosystem.

IMG_2899.jpg
This basket of shiitake mushrooms was harvested from the large pile while I was liberating a few of the logs.

Always check with an expert before eating wild mushrooms of any kind. Many varieties are highly poisonous, and care should be taken when harvesting them for food. Thoughtful teaching is required if children are taking part or even watching a wild mushroom harvest, and children will need to know not to pick or eat wild mushrooms without careful adult supervision.

It looks like my edible forest will now include mushrooms!


all photos above are mine, 2018. All upvotes and support are greatly appreciated here. For more stories, pictures and all kinds of variety, please click below.

IMG_2143.jpg

click @therealpaul for more

Sort:  

Oooohhh!! That's a nice addition to the burgeoning edible forest! I've always been fascinated by mushrooms, but I'm quite afraid of the hazards that mistakes would entail. I'm afraid that I might get overwhelmed by spores or grow a toxic batch. All over-the-top fears, I know, but all legitimate.

One day, I'll have a hydroponic, vertical mushroom farm and I shall dedicate several yields after you, brother!

I saw a mushroom field guide once that described all of the side effects of the poisonous shrooms, the hazards of mistakes. Pretty terrifying stuff, I really don't even touch mushrooms unless I know what they are.

I have one of Paul Stamet's book, Growing Gourmet and Medicinal Mushrooms. It's the mushroom bible - I highly recommend it. I have grown mushrooms three times. My favorites were the oyster mushrooms that grew in "forest byproducts." That was nicer than getting a box of manure in the mail.

Learned something awesome here!

Well, I have to tell you that was a pretty crappy post. What would you call those logs? Shiity logs? All jesting aside, this looks like an interesting enterprise. I'm actually going to check into it. Thanks.

Wow! Awesome. My husband grows mushrooms but for a different reason - a pet project for breaking down forest slash through his non profit. We've also had them in the garden but its probably too hot and dry in that space for mushrooms although we have gotten a few oysters.

Your posts are very educational, you should add #educational as tag ;)
I thought humans are not able to digest mushrooms, so we won't get any benefit from it and now you tell me about those bloody vitamins.
I shall cook it more often :)

When I was living in the village with my father house at the childhood, I had seen lots of such types of mushroom. You know friend being a child of Brahmin, (we have Cast system still now )we did not able to eat mushrooms. So we didn't eat them, still now I have know idea how to make curry of mushroom. Please suggest if you have any idea. Thanks for sharing your beautiful mushroom, enjoy your dinner.

Oh man, I gotta get some of these logs going. I swear we buy $10 worth of mushrooms every time we make a trip to the grocery store. They aren't cheap! And this is an awesome little hobby too.

Hope yours turn out well and last a few more years for ya!

I was looking online for growing tips, and it looks pretty simple to order the spore plugs, then drill some holes in some oak logs and plug it up. Might be worth the initial effort. It was the cost of shrooms that has always seemed prohibitive for me, so this is a nice windfall here.

Yeah, I've watched some of those videos. I agree, it doesn't seem too difficult. I think I'm gonna have to give it a try.

so cool, nice view!!

just ah perfect shot....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94