In The Kitchen - Curried Prawns and Potatoes cooked in yoghurt

in #food6 years ago

Sunday afternoon and the evening meal is my responsibility. My good lady @fempower asked if I could make us a curry for a change. Surprising as the temperature was in the high 90’s (fahrenheit) … but it is a nice break from having salads and barbecues all the time.


Imgur


Imgur


Our awesome curry tree - freshness at our fingertips

I decided on fragrant and medium heat curry rather than the winter warmers I make so it was a perfect opportunity to make a fragrant prawn curry. I decided to accompany the prawn dish with some potatoes cooked in yoghurt … and knowing my wife was not a seafood fan I thought to make a zingy chicken curry.

As is my usual style, this will not be a recipe with exact proportion of ingredients, but if you wish you can ask below and I shall reply with exact amounts. I must warn you this Indian cooking is a task intensive process but the results were absolutely worth it.

First I started by creating a paste for the prawn curry, very shortsighted of me as I had to repeat the process again for the potatoes.


Imgur


Paste ingredients for prawn curry, for the potatoes one replaces the cumin seeds with fresh ginger


Imgur


Pestle pestle pestle until you have a paste

The other ingredients are cumin powder, red chilli powder, turmeric, coriander powder, fresh curry leaves, tamarind water (I used vinegar) and two medium tomatoes chopped. You can also add thinly sliced onion and if so saute them first before adding the paste.


Imgur


Heat a glug of oil (I used coconut oil) and when hot add the paste and curry leaves and stir for two minutes


Imgur


Add spices and chopped tomatoes and allow to simmer for about 5 minutes


Imgur


Add about 100 ml’s water and let all simmer together for about 10 minutes on low heat, then add prawns

Do not cover when simmering as you want the mixture to reduce. I added the prawns after about 10 minutes and then increased the heat and


Imgur

For the accompanying Potato cooked in yoghurt there were similar spices except the paste was ginger, chilli and garlic. I added cumin powder, red chilli powder, turmeric, coriander powder and again fresh curry leaves.. Using a hand held blender I combined the paste and all the spices (not the curry leaves) to which I added two tablespoons water and blitzed some more.

Peel the potatoes and cut in round slices, place in pot and cover with water to which you add a ¼ teaspoon turmeric powder and teaspoon salt. Boil until potatoes are about 75% cooked, drain and cool.


Imgur


Yellow potatoes cooling in the colander


Imgur


Heat some oil and add mustard seeds and cook until they start popping, then add the curry leaves and paste and allow to simmer for 2 minutes


Imgur


Add in two tablespoons of full cream plain yoghurt bring to the simmer and add the potatoes and allow to cook until potatoes are done, about 10 minutes

All along the way remember to taste and season, taste and season until to your taste.

I also made a chicken curry but this post is getting a bit long so I shall not go through the cooking process here. Suffice to say it was also very good {modest smile}


Imgur


I separated @fempower ‘s prawns as I was not sure she would eat them. I am happy to report she cleaned her plate


Imgur

As always thank you for reading. A BIG shout out to @kiwideb for my footer banner which she kindly shared with anyone who feels the need to stop the sometimes inappropriate comments which happen on almost every post.


Imgur











Sort:  

Looks incredibly tasty and spicy. I love shrimp. And I really like flavorful food cooked with spices and herbs. But potatoes in yogurt is something new to me. I've never heard of this combination. Quite an interesting way of cooking.

First time I tried it and it was really good. I should have added another chilli ..... but next time {smile}...Thanks for stopping by @anna-mi

Good post freinds.
very good food, i want to try it.

my friend has already made a 7 day black and white challenge, and barrel in check and please help him

shrimp curry, really very tasty and tasty comrade, I like posting friends.

waw cuisine very tasty, like cooking, surely this Curry delicious @themagus

The food is very good friends and will be a very unusual meal menu. I really like these foods

I am very interested in your post. because you are the person who has the responsibility and hopefully the dinner pleases my friend @themagus.
i will upvote and resteem.

woww .. you are a great friend, you can make a delicious shrimp curry dish with added potatoes and yougourt will be perfectly delicious. It turns out you are good at cooking yes? success is always my friend @themagus.

Thank you @lizana and thank you for your support

You are welcome my friend @themagus.

The food is very tasty. You make foods that can increase appetite. Thanks for the recipe I will try this cuisine with my family tomorrow. Good luck always for you @themagus.

Thanks @rizasukma... and thanks as always for the much appreciated support.

You are welcome my friend 😊.

wow, i really like the curry, from the seasoning that you feel like my tongue can not wait to taste it, it is delicious, you are @themagus very talented

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63036.79
ETH 3067.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82