In The Kitchen - Crusted Pork Rump SteakssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago

Sunday dinner and I decided to make some Crusted Pork Rump Steaks, accompanied by potato rosti and a lovely green salad. Once again, I will not do a recipe but rather just talk through the process starting with a simple tip for when making a green salad. If adding raw onion to a salad, placing the thinly sliced onion rings in an equal mix of red wine vinegar and water for 30 minutes will sweeten the onions.

The three main components of this dish were the rosti’s, the crust spices and of course the steaks.
For the rosti’s I used three potato’s of which I boiled one in it’s jacket and left to cool down.

I peeled the two raw potato’s and grated them after which I rinsed the starch out and placed in a colander to dry. To add to the potato’s I chopped three spring onions and one red cayenne chilli, seeds removed chopped finely.

The boiled jacket potato was coarsely squashed with a fork and I added three tablespoons flour and an egg. Mix and season well with salt and freshly ground pepper

![] )

Mix the cooked and raw potato’s together rather loosely to keep a rough texture.

To make the crust for the pork steaks I used a pestle and mortar to grind some whole pimento’s(Allspice), roughly a tablespoon full to which I added a tablespoon cayenne pepper and Himalayan salt and black pepper. This is the basis of the crust.

That was sufficient spices to cover my three pieces of meat

As can be seen I have the meat on paper towelling as it must be nice and dry before applying the coating

While the meat gets to room temperature before pan frying I start on the rosti’s.

I used coconut oil and a teaspoon butter to fry the rosti’s. Using a big spoon I dropped in a batch of potato mix and pressed down firmly to flatten.

Cooking time is around three minutes per side over a medium heat. Once nicely browned I remove and place on a tray in the warm oven to keep warm

Cooking the rump steak is a straight forward business and the cooking time depends on personal preference (well done, medium, rare etc.) and the thickness of the steaks. These steaks were about 5 centimetres (2 inches) thick and I cooked them to medium done, seven minutes a side

I made a really nice green salad using some herbs and spinach from my own garden and served this with the meal.

The final dish ….. the family demolished it with great enthusiasm

Thanks for reading !!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77