How Many of You Think the Ceasar Salad Comes From Rome? [TIL]

in #food7 years ago

steemit-salad.jpg

Sour or Salad
When dining out, I usually have a Caesar salad, never giving it much thought as to who Caesar actually is or was. The Parmesan cheese was enough for me to deduce that Caesar must be Julius Caesar, the Roman Emperor.

Wrong!

It actually turns that the Caesar Salad was invented in Tijuana, Mexico during the Prohibition Era in the U.S. In the 1920's, alcohol and its consumption was outlawed by the United States govERnment, leading to many Speak Easy bars or other alternative means for acquiring booze such as moonshining.

speakeasies.jpg

For many in Southern California during Prohibition, Hotel Caesar in Tijuana, Mexico was the destination for some gambling and to throw back a few without the risk of being arrested. According to legend, on 4th of July 1924, during a rush of patrons, the restaurant ran out of most of its ingredients for making their dishes. The owner, Caesar Cardini, quickly improvised with what he had, and in order to make it seem normal but with a touch of class, he himself tossed the new creation in front of his unsuspecting dining guests. That day the patrons of Hotel Caesar were treated to the first ever Caesar Salad. It immediately became a hit then and continues to be a very popular salad today. After many years of being closed, Hotel Caesar has once again re-opened for some fine dining. Now You Know!

Thank you Mr. Caesar Cardini.

news_thumb_28550_630.jpg


A modern version of the Caesar Salad
Caesar Salad Ingredients

Romaine Lettuce
crushed Garlic
Olive Oil
Salt
Pepper
lemon juice
Worcestershire Sauce
coddled eggs
grated Parmesan Cheese
Croutons
Anchovies (added at a later date by Caesar's brother, Alex)


Full Steem Ahead!
06/16/2017
@streetstyle


So You Want To Mine Bitcoin

Code rT5ix8 =3% off + Bonus in STEEM!
I provide the bonus STEEM

image sources:

Pic 1 wiki
Pic 2 web urnanist
Pic 3 sandiegored.com

Sort:  

I love Caesar salads, interesting to hear the history. I think nachos were invented the same way, chef ran out of food and decided to throw something together.

Thanks for stopping by @rulesforrebels I saw one of your videos, and now that you are here, just wanted to clarify steempower. You mention a 2yr withdrawal period, but that is no longer the case. I am not sure if Hard Fork 19 made any changes to steempower but I don't think so since I have not seen anyone mention it. So if no changes, then power down (or withdrawing your steempower) will take 12 weeks in weekly payment. So if say you have 12,000 steem power, then you will receive 1,000 steempower a week for 12 weeks, which can be stopped at anytime as well.
These are historic times.
Full Steem Ahead!

Hey buddy thanks for clarifying. This may be a stupid question but I'm still trying to wrap my head around this.

So when I see under a blog post $73, does that legit mean I earned $73 USD or at the very least that equivalent in Steem Dollars?

Personally I'm powering up everything but hypothetically I could turn those SBD into Steem which I guess would still be around $73, which I could then send to Bittrex and change to $73 worth of BTC, which I could then send to coinbse and cash out for $73 USD?

Dropped a pic below just to show what I'm referring to
http://imgur.com/a/gwADl

@rulesforrebels Please ask away.

On the lower right, when posting you will see a check box for either 50%SBD 50% Steem payout or 100%SBD (SBD = steem dollar). I check 50/50 because it lets me then use the internal trading market within steem to buy steem with SBD's especially when they've at times almost doubled.

Now as far as payout... unless it has recently changed which I don't think it has, but what the payout it is something like 75% author and 25% to those that up voted. ANYONE please correct me if I am wrong.

Also, next to your name is a reputation number....I think that also affects payout amounts.

I have powered up about 99% of all I have done here and will cont. to do so for a while.

Okay so out of that $73, $54.75 goes to me and the remaining $18.25 goes to those who upvoted?

Just curious do people who upvoted early get the same payout as someone who upvotes a post which has already earned thousands kind of as an incentive to picking content that turns out to be good or is it the same across the board for all voters?

I was doing 50/50 as it was set that way by default but have recently switched to 100% steem power.

I still have somewhat of a hard time wrapping my head around steem vs steem dollars and why there's a reason for two as well as how to transfer back and forth between the two.

What you mentioned in regards to trading SBD for steem while I dont fully understand it sounds like there's a strategy behind it. So do you want to trade your SBD for steem when the steem value is high?

I think it might be more like 80/20, so author receives more. Those numbers look somewhat off. ( i am being lazy, sorry).

steem dollars was meant to be 1 to 1 with U.S dollar. So in future, say Vendor sells shirt, he sells in Steem dollar since it always worth 1 US dollar. SBD is a token so its tradeable. And steem is the main token. It get complicated to go deeper. Especially since the 1:1 hasn't alway been 1:1 amongst other things.

And I always use the internal market, there is a link for it, upper right, it is faster to use this than to convert, which I don't really understand myself.

And I just hold SBD's because I sometimes give some out, or use to support projects here on steemit as well as other users.

And you want to hopefully have some steem to sell when prices is higher and SBD's at the ready to buy when it is low. Trading is a whole other deep topic.

Hope this helps.

Hey thanks so much for explaining that, clears things up a bit. I was confused by that internal market as when I was trying to trade for Steem Dollars to promote a post it kept taking me there but finally figured out how to do it.

Glad to help and yeah a bit of a learning curve here. You can ask anytime. Also there is steemit.chat and discord app where you will find many top steemit users.
my user name is the same on both...if your user name is available don't use your steemit password for those sites (just a tip).

Hahaha interesting @streetstyle! French fries come from france? Russian salad from russia? Hamburgers from Hamburg? It also requires some research hahaha

@albertoyago And don't forget Belgian Waffles.

full steem ahead!

Hahahs really true @streetstyle! Seems that geographic food naming could be a steem trending topic itself hahaha

Wow very interesting fact. I had always made the same assumption. I can always appreciate a lesson in food history. Great post.

I was also very surprised too @natashahall Hopefully I can go to the original hotel soon and try it from there. Take care and thanks for the support.

so interesting, I though that, I invite you to read my last post :)

Ceasar Salad is the best!

Hail Caesar Salad! :P
I don't order any other salad but that if I eat at a restaurant!
Great read.
I had no idea it originated in Mexico :)
Upvoted :)

Thanks @taraamin77 Caesar Salad is my favorite.

Wow very interesting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65317.17
ETH 2646.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86