Figo has the perfect appetizer that makes me go ‘cuckoo’steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago (edited)

You see, you went out to eat and tasted something fantastic. You wanted to re-create it at home but failed. Yet, you didn't want to give up and kept trying. Again, you failed. This was the situation I was in with my beloved Zucchini Fritti from Figo.

I fell in love with this Zucchini Fritti pretty much instantly when I was last at Figo in Toronto. Really, I could go on and on about 'him'. But, I had made a conscientious decision that it’s better to give up the idea of re-creating it at home but to re-visit Figo for this fantastic appetizer.

IMG_20160620_175634.jpg

Figo's Zucchini Fritti tastes phenomenal - they are super light and tasty at the same time. While deep frying something sounds easy, but in reality, it ain't that easy. A high level of skills, technique and equipment are absolutely essential in making this dish. Indeed, it's very tricky to deep fried something as thin as these zucchini ribbons, especially to ensue they are crisp and light.

'Taste' is definitely number one but 'look' is also important. Just pay closer attention to how beautiful these ribbons look. In particular, I love the two tone green colour shades. It's like an art installation you would display in a gallery. Say what?! Yes, I am serious and I do consider it as a piece of art, no joke! In fact, I even made a drawing and would like to hang it on the wall if I receive no opposition from my husband.

IMG_20170903_133506.jpg

Figo is a great Italian restaurant in Toronto and I used to live in that 'hood. The restaurant serves up some pretty decent Italian dishes. And, you won't find anywhere else in the 'hood that serves such high quality Zucchini Fritti. In addition, this space is full of pastels and beautiful interior. Check out the ceiling.

IMG_20160620_175646.jpg

IMG_20160620_175654.jpg

IMG_20160620_183446.jpg

I fantasize ordering at least 3 plates of these babies at one sitting. I know that sounds absolutely crazy and cuckoo, but it is that good! However, last time I was there, I ordered a refreshing tomato salad instead.

IMG_20160620_175745.jpg

Sort:  

I love the zucchini as well! Do you like pickles? Beast makes deep fried thin slices of pickles and they're really good! Addictive! :D

Ha - thanks for the recommendation (yum)

that looks good. very different.

Indeed. Always nice to try something new and different!

that looks beautiful i would love to try that, italian food is my favorite!

Same here. I heart Italian food - very down to earth homey type of cuisine. We have a big Italian population here in Toronto and we are lucky to have the opportunity to sample some very great Italian food

your photos seem less blue. very nice.

Ima look for fritti. Never heard of that one before. Thanks!

You are welcome friend. Yummy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66297.29
ETH 2682.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87