Japanese Old School Soda with the Marble Inside

in #food6 years ago

One of my favourite noodle restaurants in Dalian China is a small Japanese Ramen shop not too far from my home.

Mable filled bottle tops are well before my time but I do remember hearing about them or I've seen them mentioned in a movie or on TV. So when I stumbled upon this the other day I bought it just for that. This is Chinese owned and operated but they sure do a good job of Japanese noodles. Most Chinese will say all Japanese came from China thousands of years ago and there is historical proof to back it up believed by the Japanese as well.


(They covered the Japanese words, that's how you know it was imported.)

The colour is what I call Steemit Blue back from the old logo that I still use. It wasn't really fun to open as I had expected. Maybe there is a trick to it that comes with experience. When I popped it open it fizzed up and spilled all over the table and made my hands sticky. The waitress seemed understanding as she cleaned it up before my noodles arrived. Next time I go I will show you the noodles.

It was fizzy still but drinking it from the bottle with a weird shape opening had it pouring past my lips and down my chin. The marble inside would block the hole if I tilted it too high like when it's getting close to empty. The gap where the marble stays creates an effect like white water rapids and makes the soda fizz even more. I will say it was one of the fizziest soda's I've ever had. Maybe that is part of the gimmick.

The flavour was sweet but not nearly as sweet as a blue flavoured popsicle. Yes, Blue is a flavour This is suppose to be blueberry I guess from the art on the bottle but I didn't taste like any blueberry I ever had. It was a good taste that would mix well with vodka or added some other new cocktail concoction.

Total 3 of 5 Stars ✪ ✪ ✪

Fizzy 3 0f 5 Stars ✪ ✪ ✪

Taste 2 of 5 Stars ✪ ✪

Potential to be a mixer 4 of 5 Stars ✪ ✪ ✪ ✪

Fun Points

If you see it one of the Japanese shops where you live it's worth a try just to say you've had it or done it. I forgot to keep the bottle or maybe I didn't want to carry it. Either way I don't have it.

Sort:  

we have this kind of soda in Taiwan is for a while. And now we still have this soda, even though the people love coco cola more, you still can buy it in some markets or traditional streets.
And i've never have it before until few months ago!
i spent some time to figure out how to open it and how to take the marble out haha. and got shocked by the open moment!

haha, yea that first moment of opening it is a bit of a trick. Would you try it again?

Beautiful drink review. Drinking is the best way to celebrate in our best moments. I often offer my friend to drinks when i get some achievement or success.

Well, my friend let's have some drinks.

Hey a reminder of happy times- years and years ago. My native village in India. Thks!

Oh wow, that's quite the collection. Talk about collecting the whole set. What flavours are they?

That's a clever Japanese idea, not only for marketing but I think there's a reason why that marble being inside the bottle. When I drink any soda in can or in bottle I always use a plastic straw to stir it before drinking, by doing so makes the soda less frizzy.

There's a Japanese ramen restaurant not far from my workplace, I'll try to see if they have that kind of soda. I had Pepsi blue before, that's the only blue colored soda I had as I could remember, it seem didn't taste like soda lol.

eew.. Pepsi Blue, how was that? I choose Pepsi over Coke, yes, I chose a side. lol. Probably because my mom was a Pepsi drinker. When I was a kid there was a Pepsi Clear and it looked liked soda water and was suppose to taste just like Pepsi but it didn't and they stopped selling it soon after it was available.

I hope that Japanese shop has the right stuff.

Pepsi blue was advertised with berry flavor but I don't feel the blueberry taste in it, it tastes weird or maybe my taste buds aren't used to it. My favorite color is blue but not in my drink lol. I don't see Pepsi blue in stores here for a long time. I've heard it was stopped due to the blue coloring content that's being said unhealthy.

I don't think there's a healthy soda! Never had Pepsi Clear, it looks similar to 7Up. I think Coke is more popular here than Pepsi, especially the Coke Light and Coke Zero. I'm not into soda really, I'm more with fruit juice and iced tea.
I'm still curious though of trying that Japanese soda, I hope they have mango flavor available =)

I doubt there are healthy soda's too, but some might, maybe, possibly "healthier" than others. lol

wow soda is my favurite drink. thanks for @solarguy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89