Low Country Boil - Simple & Delicious Recipe - Shrimp, Potatoes, Corn, Sausage, and More

in #food7 years ago

For Father’s Day, my father, @iconchout, wanted a Low Country Boil. We have it every few months for a special occasion. They are fairly inexpensive to make and can feed a large crowd. They are great for family dinners, sports events, and any other gathering. A Low Country Boil is a combination of a potatoes, sausage, corn, shrimp, and more and is often served on a huge table where everyone can just eat as much as they want.

This recipe serves 20 people perfectly

Ingredients

6 pounds of shrimp (unpeeled)
8 pounds of sausage (polska kielbasa or turkey kielbasa)
9 pounds of small red potatoes
10 ears of corn
3 heads of garlic
1 white onion
2 lemons
1 carton of old bay seasoning
4 Yuenglings (optional – beer of choice)
8 quarts of water
2 pounds of crawfish (optional)

Time to go shopping with Sevin

I love adding Yuengling to the water mixture. It adds some extra flavor.

Old Bay is a great seasoning for seafood and poultry and is a combination of bay leaves, paprika, dry mustard and other seasonings.

I usually use polska kielsbasa, but the turkey kielbasa was on sale and had 65% less fat than the polska.

I love to shuck the corn and it was 5 ears for $2.

I had not used crawfish in a Low Country Boil before, but it definitely will be a staple from now on.

I got both medium and large shrimp. The large shrimp were a little pricey – use medium shrimp from now on! :D

The garlic is a secret ingredient in the Low Country Boil.

Lemons. Get your lemons. Any chance I have to juggle I take full advantage of.

The onions add some serious flavor and are delicious by themselves with all of the seasonings.

The red potatoes are my favorite part of the boil.

Now time to get into the kitchen!

Steps for the Low Country Boil

  1. Put the water and beer in a large pot. Turn onto max heat to bring to a boil

  2. Cut the onions in half and put into the water

  3. Cut the lemons in half and squeeze into the water

  4. Add 6 tablespoons of the old bay seasoning

  5. Chop the potatoes into quarters

  6. Once the water boils, add the potatoes to the pot. Cook for 10 minutes

  7. Shuck all of the corn. Cut the corn into thirds

  8. Slice the sausages into 1 inch or bitesize pieces. Here is my younger brother in the kitchen helping out.

  9. Add the sausages and corn to the pot. Cook for 5 minutes.

  10. Add the crawfish to the pot. Cook for 5 minutes.

  11. Peel the garlic and put into aluminum foil and bake at 325 for 5 minutes.

  12. Make sure the potatoes are soft and then add the shrimp to the pot and cook for 3-4 minutes or until the shrimp are completed.

  13. Drain the water from the pot and cover the table with newspaper.

  14. Pour the Low Country Boil onto the table

  15. Pig out!! Enjoy!!

Sort:  

Wow nice share:)
I'm following you and upvoted
I'm introducing korea food and culture.
If you interested in this topic, you visit my steemit :) have a good day

I followed you back! I like to see food from other cultures!!

Looks delicious! Great job ^.^

Why thank you!! :D

Unfortunately we can't get Yuenglings up here in Iowa!

You have had it before, haven't you? They have been continuing to spread their reach!

Only once when I was down in Mobile for the Senior Bowl.

Looks like I need to come up to Iowa and bring a 12 pack (or a 24 pack)

Um, yes. Bring it to a Hawkeye tailgate this fall!

It's only a 16 hour drive! Not too terribly bad!

It's look like really taste good.
I will also update some food and health information, could you have a look and follow me? Thanks so much.

You should try it sometime! Sure I followed you! I am excited to see what you write about!

Great blog. I did my own of this and it turned out pretty well. Next time I'll purchase some crawfish and include them in the boil.

Yours looked delicious! My family loved the crawfish!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29