The Sesame Seed Challenge

in #food5 years ago

My husband bought a pack of sesame seeds when I asked him to get the groceries for me. He asked me to cook something with it. I haven't cooked anything with sesame seeds so...

Challenge accepted, my dear. Challenge. Accepted.

Of course, with the help of my good friend, google, I was able to find a recipe I could use as my guide. I don't really follow recipes for reasons like I can't find a certain ingredient, or that I want to add a spice or something.

So here's my slightly altered version of chicken teriyaki.

Ingredients

Chicken breast
1/4 cup soy sauce
freshly squeezed orange juice (2 oranges)
3 - 5 Tbsp honey
1 tsp finely grated fresh ginger
1 tsp sesame oil
1 Tbsp olive oil
1 1/2 Tbsp unsalted butter
Sesame seeds (as much as you prefer)

Procedure

  1. Slice the chicken breast into bite size bits.
  2. Mix all the ingredients (except for the sesame seeds, olive oil, butter and chicken) in a bowl.
  3. Add in the chicken. Make sure that every bit of it is covered my the sauce. Cover with cling wrap and let it sit on room temperature for up to 30 minutes to let the flavors seep into the meat.
  4. In a heated pan, add olive oil. Remove chicken from the marinade and fry until golden brown. Set the marinade aside for later.
  5. Once the chicken is golden brown, remove from heat and set aside.
  6. On an empty pan, (you may use the one you used tor the chicken) pour the marinade. Add butter. Stir continuously until sauce thickens. Add sesame seeds. Then put the chicken back in. Stir.

I tried this same recipe with pork, it also tastes good but I like the chicken better.

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66297.29
ETH 2682.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87