Brussels Sprout Hamburg SoupsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago

Yes. You read that correctly. I made a fantastic soup using brussels sprouts. Brussels sprouts are a member of the cabbage family and they do resemble tiny cabbages. In terms of flavour, they taste very similar to cabbage. They become translucent  in their appearance once they've been simmered over a low flame, for a couple of hours and the intensity of the cabbage flavour softens.

The ingredients needed are:

  1. 5 cups of beef broth;
  2. 5 cups of spring water;
  3. 1 large sweet potato, chopped;
  4. 2 stalkes of celery, chopped;
  5. 2 large carrots, chopped;
  6. 1 lb of brussels sprouts;
  7. 227 grams or 8 ounces of white mushrooms, sliced;
  8. 2 tbsp of coconut oil (for frying the mushrooms and onions);
  9. 1 lb of lean ground beef;
  10. 1 medium size white onion, chopped;
  11. and pink Himalayan salt and freshly ground black pepper.

Tools needed:

  1. a large butcher's knife and cutting board;
  2. a large stock pot that will hold at least 3 litres or 12 cups of fluid;
  3. a medium size frying pan;
  4. a spatula;
  5. and a large wooden spoon. 

Directions:

  • This is the concentrated beef broth that was the by-product of cooking a large roast of beef in a slow cooker. If it's strained off and left to sit for 24 hours in a refrigerator to cool, the fat will solidify on the top and you'll be easily able to lift it right off the top and discard it. This particular bowl contained 5 cups of concentrated broth and after a day in the fridge, I was able to lift the fat layer off in one piece.
  • Add 5 cups of beef broth and 5 cups of water to a large stock pot and set the flame to a medium low heat.

  • Fry the mushroom in 2 tbsp of coconut oil. Once cooked, add them to the beef broth in the simmering stock pot. 

  • Using the same pan and residual coconut oil, saute the white onions until they are translucent. 

  • Add the beef, cooking and breaking it up with the onions until it is browned all the way through. (Approximately 10 minutes.)

  • Drain off any extra fat and add this beef mixture to the simmering stock pot.

  • Gather the vegetables. Clean, peel and chop them into smaller pieces.

  • This is what the brussels sprouts look like, once cleaned and cut. (Cute, tiny cabbages.)

  • Add all the vegetables to the simmering stock pot and cook on a low flame for 2 hours. All the vegetables should be soft and cooked through.

  • This is what the soup will look like, once it's completely cooked. Transfer this into a heat safe glass bowl to cool. This soup can be stored in the refrigerator and will keep for 5 days or it can be frozen in smaller containers for later use.

Enjoy!

I welcome your comments and invite you to join me...there is always room for one more at my table. ;)

~ Rebecca Ryan

Sort:  

Now that's a good soup for a winter's day! Brussle sprouts just don't get the appreciation they ought to. A quick saute and they are great, I think. Or slow roasted. Or in your soup!! :D

Thanks @haphazard-hstead! We got more snow last night...and it's been bitter cold. I enjoyed seeing your spring greenery in your crepe post. It gave me hope. LOL

Yep, this time of year is when folks in snow-covered areas want some hope! My first year of living in Michigan we had 3 feet of snow (level with an old house's walk-up porch), clear into April. But maybe this will just prolong your good season for maple syrup, there in Ontario. Hang in there. Spring's coming! When my mom got snow last week in Arkansas, she made snowballs for her cranberry margaritas. So you can still enjoy nature's bounty in one way or another, lol.

Hahaha! That's fantastic! Thanks for your optimism. Your Mom has it right. Just like the adage "If you are given lemons, make lemonade".

I wonder how many ways you can use snow! Fill your freezer now, haha. ; )

hahaha! There's a lot...right now maple sap is being harvested and boiled down in sugar shacks in Ontario and Quebec. When the syrup is ready but still hot, it gets poured directly on the snow which causes it to turn to a taffy. This taffy is twirled on a stick very quickly, to make a portable candy. Couldn't happen without clean snow. ;)

havent had sprouts in a longgg time.. they are GOOD thought! 👌

Thanks for commenting @doitvoluntarily! They are delicious.

Oh Brussel Sprouts. The veggie I hated as a kid but now oddly am missing and craving them. My mom would add them to roasts or just smother them in butter, still i hated them. Now, I'm searching for them. lol. They're not too popular here. Last time I saw them on a menu was Xmas buffet at a western restaurant, which did our food no justice!

They are an under-valued vegetable for sure. (Sorry you don't have easy access to them right now.) I often fry them in coconut oil and add bacon. Delicious for anyone following a low carb, high fat eating lifestyle. Thanks for commenting @solarguy!

well, jeez, you cook anything in bacon and you can't lose. My diet here is sooo greasy, it makes Trailer Park Boys look healthy. haha. This summer when I get home it will most likely be on my list of foods i missed, and my dad might start losing his hair. haha.

Hahaha! Don't worry about the fat...just don't mix it with grain and your body will run very efficiently.

hmm, wait wait, don't mix grains with fat? does that include whisky, it;s become my habit. lol

I'm afraid so...too much sugar. LOL

I love Brussels Sprouts. Miss them so much here in SE-Asia!

We need to send you seeds @amy-goodrich! I bet they'd grown just fine in your gardens. :)

Prob going to Europe in the summer to visit family and friends... so might pick some up. Not sure if they will grow well since brussels sprout need some cold I thought! But we'll see... if you don't try you don't know!

Exactly! and if you can pick-up some seeds without too much trouble, why not try?

They're a bit bitter but the mushroom will be fab!

Yes, on their own, but surprisingly once they are cooked, they loose a lot of their strong sulfur taste.
I was shocked. This was one of the best soups that I have ever made. ;)

ive never seen it as soup in UK! that's great then ;) they said it's healthy :(

LOL @immarojas...does that mean they won't use brussels sprouts because they're are healthy?

Nope..they're fond of them as very healthy..it's the taste am struggling with ;)

I love sprouts! Never thought of using them in soup. Great idea!

Thanks @meesterboom! I let it chill in the fridge for a day and it was surprising delicious. I was shocked and will use them in soup again.

I am glad to hear you were shocked. I will definitely try it. I often shred them and flash fry with chilli and garlic and plop under a big slice of fish!

Looks very good. I put brussel sprouts in salads, they seem to be quite good that way. Thanks for sharing.

Thanks for commenting @ddschteinn! I agree completely with you. I love sliced brussels sprouts in salad, too.

Looks awesome Rebecca. Some of the ingredients are paleo restricted?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77