A snack we can all get behind.

in #food7 years ago

I love a good snack and I'm always looking for the next addition to my snacking options.
Sure, there's always the good, reliable stuff: chips!, popcorn!, peanuts ( or pistachio if you're fancy!) and many more.
But I also like to explore new options. I recently discovered vegetable chips that are damn right delicious and low in calories. I also think that baby carrots make a killer snack ( or I just chop regular carrots into sticks ).

But I'm not talking about any of that today! No, sir! Today I want to talk about.....

19191092_10155122358010081_1314758603_n.jpg

EDAMAME, the soy beans that could!

I remember first time I had these in a japanes restaurant as a starter. Delicious and fun to eat. These are not the usual green beans I had as a kid, these are delicious big crunchy salty beans.
Of course, being a japanese restaurant...they were expensive as f$%k! I liked them but stored them in my "too expensive to eat daily" folder together with: ramen, sushi, raw vegan cake and other such goodies.

Yesterday though I went to a local new korean-japanese supermaket and voila. This frozen bag was for sale at 2.5$.
TWO and A HALF DOLLARS!!! <---- Is all my life a lie?, I wondered in awe. What and how and why have I been misleaded!

I bought them right away and ran home to cook them up.

Here;s the recipe. It's long and complicated so please take out your notepads and a few pencils. You might need it!

You boil some water, put some salt in it, throw frozen edamames in there for 5 minutes. Drain and eat with a bit of salt.

.
.
.
No, seriously that's all :))

It's so easy it's not right. People like to add fancy stuff to their edamame or add them to other complicated meals. WHY?
No, the edamame are perfect just like that.
Mine turned amazing and I ate them while watching the new episode of American Gods. (Have I told you that this show is good?!).

Pics or it didn't happen, am I right?!

19198231_10155122321965081_2110727432_n.jpg

I recommend you try this next time you have friends over or as an alternative to high calories chips when you feel like it. You might be surprise. Just make sure it's crispy!

19213051_10155122321790081_350666078_o.jpg

OH man, this looks weird...

So there you have it, my secret snack option! Have you ever had this, did you like it?
Let me know in the comments with your favorite snack.
I mean..
LET'S GET SNACKIN'!
( I had to do it..)

Sort:  

looks like healthy snack

follow this up with some burgers to kill the healthy effect :)))

lol. Just looked at someone's blog about healthy burger

my very secrect snack is BCAA amino acids with some gelatin , make a freaking muscle building gel with 10 calories and 0 carbs :))

I certainly like some bcaa cocktail before workout when I haven't eaten that day :D

BCAA's must be always welcome on your daily plan, especially pre/intra/post work out you choose , helps you a LOT with your muscle recovery ! If you haven't eat that day you are doomed anyhow ! or you mean in fasten mode ??

of course fasted :)) no, i usually fsat for 15hours--> go to gym [ with bcaa ] and then edn my fast with the first post-workout meal.
BCAA don't really work much if you eat non -fasted, from the research I read :)

exactly especially if your BCAA mix contains glutamine, but you can stack with your food some EAA's for better absorption !

All about the wasabi peas.

Though edamame are sweet

I am quite fond of them myself!

Sounds like an interesting alternative to one of my favorite southern snacks: Boiled Peanuts!

wow. never heard of that before! who boils peanuts!?!?!?!?

Good post ..please follow me

Do you eat them whole, or pop them out and discard the shells? I lick the salt off and eat the innards, but I know people who do both...

eh... wasabi peas or roasted/salted pepitas are better imo

Sounds like a great snack! I have not tried edamame. I have seen them but never tried. Now you have inspired me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71