I really don't feel up to food

in #food7 years ago

I think we all go through times where we just can't be bothered with food. But even when we feel like that, we know we need food to survive. Currently for me it's been constant headaches and some issues related to not sleeping properly thanks to a little bike race that's going on over on the other side of the planet.

So what are my basic things for getting through the times when I just can't be bothered?

Pizza Toasties

Bread Pizza.jpg

Slice of bread, pizza sauce or tomato paste, ham, cheese. Mushrooms and jalapeno recently also, but Ham and Cheese are the basics for me. Sprinkle with dried mixed herbs and a little salt. Grill until the cheese melts. I'll make 2-3 at a time and they'll get me through a few hours. Can be made in <5 mins. Grilled in about the same time, and devoured in less.

Sausage in bread

Sausage Sizzle.jpg

Just like you get after voting or from Bunnings. I pan fry 2 sausages. Serve them in cheap white bread with sauce and parmesan. BBQ and Sriracha are my current sauce choices. Making 2 of these is a whole meal for me. It doesn't sound like much, and it isn't 'healthy', but it does the job.

These are possibly the most work of things on this list, which says a lot.

Markdown specials

Oven bake or pan fry markdowns from the supermarket fridge sections. Today was oven baked salmon croquettes. I've also had crumbed fish, or thai spiced squid. and enchiladas. The key is it's cheap, and I just have to put it in the oven for <15 mins.

It might take 15 mins, but that's mostly like that time after you ring the pizza place and before it gets delivered. You aren't cooking, you're just waiting for it to be done.

If I'm feeling a bit better, or up for a little bit, I'll turn things like the Thai Spiced Squid into some kind of pilau or stir fry. But that takes effort.

Yogurt

Yup. Just a tub of yogurt, I do usually serve it into a bowl at least, but sometimes not. I expect that tonight I'll dig in to the boysenberry yogurt that I've got in the fridge.

Freezer

When I do cook, I like to put at least a couple of serves into the freezer for future me. These come in very handy when I don't feel like cooking. I currently have bolognaise sauce (would have to cook pasta for that), chow mein, aloo gobi, a curry of some sort, and at least one other serve in there.

I also always have frozen chips in the freezer. It's great to make my own fresh from potatoes (or sweet potato or pumpkin), but having some frozen just in case is vital to get through sometimes.

upgoat

Images used in the post were found through google image search.

Sort:  

Excellent ratticus - excellent. Mini pizzas we call them. SK. U & R.

yeah, mini pizzas, bread pizza, open grilled ham and cheese, pizza toasties, cheat's pizza. So many names for something so small and delicious

Yup Simply Delicious!

The bread pizzas (minus the jalapeno and herbs) and the sausage in bread (I do it with hotdog) I actually do for snack time :P I also do ham and egg sandwiches. Fast but really good. But then again, I do eat instant noodles (not very healthy I know) and the freezer food, look up how to make "lumpiang shanghai". Might be worth adding to your back up food.

I can't believe I forgot the '2 minute noodles' which are an entire category of food. What comes in the packet is just the starting point. Might have to do a whole post on them at some point...

I've found making spring rolls and similar ok, but easier just to buy frozen packets of them (though not as nice as home made). I'll devour them when presented to me, but tend not to think about making them.

mini franks falls in a similar category. I will eat all of them, but have only made them a couple of times since leaving home.

Yeah the noodles might be good as a separate category. You can go all out extolling the quick snack that is the noodle xD

As for the spring rolls, might be a matter of practice or company? If you make it with someone you like to spend time with, it could be a date lol. Might make a good home-movie even. Or a post.

Have not done mini pizzas for a while, must remember that one especially now as we seem to have a lot of mini pizza ingredients XD

Yoghurt also tends to evaporate around here because ruggers.

LoL "curry of some sort" XD freezer food is awesome. Though we have never done such immense cookups as when the kids were tiny tiny as some got lost down the back of the freezer and we don't know how much later we found them, just that we couldn't remember what they were XD

yeah, I only say that about the curry as I'm not sure which curry it is that I've got a serve left of. It might be a korma, or it could be the quick curry, or maybe it's the tikka masala. I really should label them, but when it's for me I'm not so fussed about surprise meal.

I've made at least 5 different curries so far this year.

So one curry a month? You're going to have to continue that now you realise XD

I'm not sure that this is a problem for me. I think I'm maybe a week off making another one at the moment since it's been a while

Hello monthly curry theme XD

I have no issue with this idea. I love curries

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16