What to do with leftover rice?

in #food6 years ago

This is what I've done with my leftover rice this week!

IMG_20171213_132821.jpg

Now normally, I'd use dessert rice for this, but hey, it would be a shame to let good rice go to waste, right? Why not make a little dessert (or snack in my case)! This turned out well with brown rice, but dessert rice or sticky white would be even better. Basically, just use your leftovers, or use sticky white rice if you want to make this from scratch.

So, put your rice in a sauce pan and then added coconutmilk. Make sure to have all of the rice covered. Slowly heat this up on a small fire.

Then, add your favorite tasty and/or healthy spices. I added plenty of cinnamon, together with some cardamom, ginger and turmeric. Then I added a dash of vanilla extract and a little bit of honey to sweeten it some more. Don't use a lot, it's not needed at all.

Let this sit on the stove while it's boiling a bit and wait until some of the coconut milk has evaporated. You can go for a thicker consistency of you like, or stick to the consistency you see in the picture.

Take off the fire and eat while it's still warm.

Enjoy!




Thanks for stopping by! If you've enjoy this article, try my other sites:
| Photo shop | Foodblog | Photo gallery | Twitter | Twitch | YouTube |

Become my patron and earn yourself a mention or permanent place in my blog posts!


Fair warning: Copy/paste comment and obvious bot comments will get flagged.

Sort:  

Wowo so simple and interesting. No more wastage 😊😊😊😊 @playfulfoodie

Sticky rice or sweet rice will never go to waste when the smell of warm cinnamon is filling the house, that is a simple fact of life in our home.

That's great! I love cinnamon in these kind of desserts :D

mmmmmm desert rice and rice puddings are one of my all time favorites, if we ever have leftover rice (which we seldom do haha) I'll have to try this with coconut milk- such YUM!

I have never liked rice with milk, but seriously, here at home everyone likes it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30