I made cookies today

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Finally, I was in a baking mood again.

IMG_20170522_144905.jpg

I had a couple ideas in my head for what I wanted to make today. Me not wanting to go to the store severely limited those ideas. I had to come up with something with just the ingredients in my house.

IMG_20170522_144923.jpg

I still had my apple pie recipe which needed fixing, but had no apples. I did have some almond paste left from the last time, which was about to go bad. My original idea was to make something small with the apple pie recipe. Then I figured I'd just try to make cookies!

It's basically almond paste in between two layers of my tweaked apple pie crust, cut into small pieces. They actually look and taste a lot like 'zandkoekjes' (Google tells me it's 'shortbread').

IMG_20170522_144931.jpg

There was enough light in my living room, so I figured I'd try to take a few good pictures! My food photography is severely lacking, so some practice couldn't hurt!

By the way, these are in no way healthy at all. I hope my boyfriend's co-workers are up for cookies tomorrow...



Thanks for stopping by! If you've enjoy this article, try my other sites:
| Photo shop | Foodblog | Photo gallery | Twitter |

Don't forget to Upvote, Resteem and Follow!


Sort:  

Well Done
Thanks for sharing sweet
cookies
It is excelent with coffee

Thank you!
I prefer tea though, which is actually a good idea right about now :D

Looks like it came out great. Nice to have skills in the kitchen.
Thanks for sharing

Yeah, they turned out pretty good! Needs a few small tweaks still, but the taste is great :-)

i bet those were good, i was going to say it looks like shortbread but very soft looking

They taste really good! Quite crumbly though :D

looks really good
upvoted and followed

Thanks for sharing sweet
@playfulfoodie please follow me :)

Why would google translate Sandkekse to short bread ???

I dug a little deeper, because 'sand cookies' just sounds weird :o
When looking at pictures, some shortbread cookies kinda looked like what I was referring to :D

I like the sound of sand cookies. I like Sandcake, if its not to dry and not bought. Store bought Sandcake has this strange sort of moistness.

Your Zandkoekjes are similar to our Sandkuchen right?

Ah yes, I understand what you mean with the store bought sandcake. I like those aswell, but I like home made better.

No, here's a link to google images with the zandkoekjes I mean :-)

ahhhhhhh, I know those. You would call it Kaffeegebäck (coffee pastry) in Germany. It's always tricky when languages are so close, but mean different things with similar words.

There is nothing better than a homemade Sandkuchen with lemon, though. At least in my opinion :3

Hmm that does seem tasty! I don't think I've that that before, with lemon I mean!

It is called Zitronenkuchen, if you ever come over and want to try some ;)

They sell a very yummy lemon cake in the shops here, with tasty icing on top. This chat has made me want that cake quite badly! It's a good thing it's late and stores are closed ;-)

I absolutely love shortbread. Can you post a recipe for this?

Yes! I will definitely do so in the future. Not sure when yet though, as I want to make a few tweaks first.

Looks pretty tasty, not a bad combination.

Thank you :-)
They are pretty tasty. I used sugar in them, which isn't something I normally do, but there you go... I'll just give most away :D

Looks delicious.

Thank you :-) they were!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82