My Chocolate Fix - Nutella

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Afternoon Chocoholics!

Last night I was craving some chocolate. Not just any chocolate. All I wanted was a jar of Nutella and Mr. Spoon!

Nutella Hazelnut Chocolate Spread

"Nutella® has an authentic taste of hazelnuts and cocoa and its unique creaminess intensifies the flavour. It is so delicious that even a small amount is highly satisfying: 15g/1 tbsp of Nutella® is enough to guarantee an unbeatable taste and a pleasurable experience.

First of all, I didn’t have any Nutella in my house. I was gutted! The only jar I did contemplate having was peanut butter. I really wasn’t in the mood for peanut butter though. My darling husband said he would go out and get me a jar. Bearing in mind it was 9:30pm! When he walked in, I was itching for him to give me the jar. He did make me wait 5 minutes or so… but those minutes felt like bloody ages!! Once he gave it to me, I unscrewed the lid exposing the best bit. The gold foil! I love tapping my finger on it until it splits, then slowly peel it off. It all has to be gone though! None of this leaving bits round the edges. It smelled really good! I couldn’t wait to get ’Mr. Spoon’ in. I did notice the top of the chocolate spread had quite a lot of bubbles in it. This wasn’t meant to be there! Where was the smooth, shiny, untouched surface? Hmm… I let it go and I started to eat the chocolate spread with Mr. Spoon slowly. I made sure I scraped off the top layer first to get rid of the bubbles. But wait! There’s more! What was this? Even when I dug in further there were more bubbles… or so I thought. I couldn’t make out exactly what they were, but it was either unmelted chocolate or fat balls! I hope it wasn’t the latter! The spread tasted like Nutella with that chocolatey, hazlenutty taste.

The balls really did put me off because with every spoonful I was searching in my mouth for balls, and I found them! I did like the taste, but was it really Nutella? Was it a bad batch or had they changed the recipe? Part of me really feels they changed the recipe. I don’t know what they did. It did taste like Nutella but I’m sure there was a slightly different background taste. Either that or it was the placebo effect making me doubt the taste. Last night I couldn’t have cared that much as I ate half a jar! Ooops!

Sort:  

Sounds like you might have gotten a bad batch. I've been there with a jar and Mr. Spoon. Deadly!

I didnt had Nutella for a while now. It was one of the best things I prefer to have for breakfast.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86