Krispy Kreme - Caramel Swirl

in #food6 years ago

Hello Donutters!

Carrying on with the Krispy Kreme caramel range, I bring to you the Caramel Swirl.

Caramel Swirl

”Carmel in every bite - filled with salted caramel, hand decorated with a swirl of caramel frosting and finished with a caramel cube and a drizzle of caramel.”

My regular followers will know how much of a Krispy Kreme fanatic I am. I do love a filled donut and salted caramel is one of my favourite flavours of all time. When I saw this donut, it looked huge! It was so round and perfect and the frosting with the chunk of caramel in the middle really made this donut stand out from the rest of the range. I couldn’t wait to get it home and to enjoy it with a hot mug of tea. The first thing I did was pick off the cube of caramel and eat it. It was quite firm but soft enough to eat without sticking your teeth together. I thought it was going to taste like a piece of fudge. ’I’m not a fan of fudge’, so I was quite surprised at how sweet and creamy it tasted. Now for the fin bit - biting into the donut! The frosting was lovely and it did stick to my top lip, but I didn’t care. The only people who could see me was my husband… and my cat! The caramel frosting was so sweet and ’caramally’ I don’t recall seeing any caramel drizzle on the donut. It could have been there, but I just didn’t see it. I think I was too busy concentrating biting into the donut and looking for the centre. After a few bites I didn’t see much of a centre at all… "Quite disappointing Krispy Kreme!” I was really looking forward to the salted caramel centre. It was only when I came to the end of the donut did I see some salted caramel. The caramel was runny and it was nice, but I would have preferred it to be a bit more salty.

Hmm at the time I wasn’t overly impressed by this donut. It was fine at the beginning until I got to the point with barely any salted caramel… all my excitement went down like a lead balloon. I was determined to see if this was a ’once off’ so I did get another one of these in the week after. Thankfully it paid off. My next Caramel Swirl was perfect! It definitely oozed with caramel. If you are a caramel lover, then this donut is definitely for you… or was I should say! They stopped making these about a month ago. Sorry peeps!!!

KRISPY KREME CARAMEL SELECTION
Caramel Glazed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61914.69
ETH 3017.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79