The Best Damn Oatmeal I've Ever Made😜 {Bananas, Date Syrup, Toasted Coconut & Walnuts}steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food5 years ago

Happy Saturday my friends! I hope you are all enjoying the weekend so far. I had a fantastic start to the day with a wonderful trip to the farmers market (I'll definitely share some of the new seasonal things popping up!), a run on another stunning day, and in just a little while I'm heading out with some of my best gals to celebrate my birthday next week. No complaints from my small part of the world!

IMG_20190322_082838729.jpg

I was going to share this oatmeal recipe yesterday for #fff, but I was just too whipped to take the time to do it justice. Because this bowl of oats was so darn delicious it deserved a proper write up! I've made a lot of oatmeal in my life, but I can assure you this was my favorite combination so far. No refined sugar needed with nature's best sweetener in this one. Dates are seriously one of my favorite little fruity powerhouses. I eat them a lot to fuel my runs and other workouts, but they are also an excellent way to sweeten up a dish without anything processed. They also add fiber and magnesium for those of you wondering what else they bring to the table.

IMG_20190322_082655243.jpg

I had seen a few posts around social media recently with bananas foster-type oats, so the idea had been stuck in the back of my mind for a while. Since I had off yesterday morning, I decided to give my own variation a go. Instead of using sugar or any type of syrup, I made my own syrup with dates soaked in filtered water and then blended up. The bananas were also nice and ripe, so they added a bit of sweetness, as well. Of course I couldn't forget some nutty crunch, thus the toasted coconut and walnuts were the perfect topper!

IMG_20190322_083050738.jpg

A bite with everything mixed together was just pure heaven! I was going to see my energetic little niece yesterday, and this definitely did the trick to hold me over to keep up with her. The banana topping would also be perfect over some nice cream or just about anything else, haha. Though it seems a bit fancier than my usual avocado toast breakfast, it was simple to put together for a truly heart-warming morning meal! I will be making this again very soon!

IMG_20190322_075529525.jpg

Best Damn Banana Oats

Makes 2 servings

  • 3 pitted medjool dates soaked in 1/2 cup warm water, blended into a syrup
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 1/4 cup raw walnut pieces
  • 1 cup organic rolled oats
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1 3/4 cup water
  • 2 small ripe bananas, peeled & sliced

Soak your dates for 15-30 minutes in warm water while you prepare your other ingredients. Once soaked, blend together until combined into a syrup. Set aside.

Warm up a medium-sized skillet over medium heat. Add in your coconut and walnuts. Toast for 3-4 minutes, stirring frequently or until just starting to brown and become fragrant. Remove from pan to use as a topping.

Place the skillet back on the heat and add in the date syrup and bananas, plus some extra cinnamon if you like. Reduce heat to medium-low and cook for 8-10 minutes while your oatmeal cooks. Remove from heat if the bananas start breaking down too much.

Bring the water to a boil in a medium saucepan and add your oats, cinnamon and ginger. Reduce to a simmer and cook for 5 minutes, or until the water is absorbed and the oats are cooked through.

Split your oatmeal into two bowls, then top with half each of the banana mixture and the toasted coconut and walnuts. Gobble it down before your other half tries to steal any of yours!

IMG_20190322_082758328.jpg

Though this tasted really indulgent, it is definitely healthy enough to make any day of the week! Now I just need to teach @dksart how to make it so he can treat me some time soon. 😉 Have a great rest of the weekend everyone!

PHC-Footer-05.gif



Banners by @zord189, @woman-onthe-wing, @dksart and @bearone for @steemusa


Sort:  

Looks like a tasty breakfast

Truly it was!

Posted using Partiko Android

No really I can't eat this much of Healthy food in a day , hehe😂 .

I'm just imagining the taste of it🤔

Haha, it tastes darn delicious for "health food"! 🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

I can totally imagine how delicious this oatmeal must of been. Great recipe Katie 🥥😊🍌

Thanks Lena! It really hit the spot for a guilt-free yet indulgent breakfast. 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

No doubt Katie..........always a pleasure 😊

Oh my goodness....you have made something really special there Katie! This seems much more like a dessert...although I guess we all wish we could just eat dessert for breakfast right? Wow, love the dates, coconut and walnuts. My, my I'm going to be making this one in short order! Have fun with your friends celebrating your birthday :) Blessings to you on your special day!

That's the good thing about making things at home with wholesome ingredients--the line between dessert and breakfast sometimes gets blurred, haha! I'd take it either way. Though my friends and I did thoroughly enjoy sharing a piece of squash pie with whipped coconut cream at the restaurant last night, too. 😉 Thank you for the birthday wishes!

Posted using Partiko Android

That seriously looks absoulutely delicious! ..considering I'm not a big fan of oatmeal..that's pretty awesome! Taking note 😋👍

..btw..thank you again for sharing your fantastical steem and fitness journey with our Actifit Fam 💖 You Rock SiStar!! 🙏

Posted using Partiko Android

Ooh, I'll definitely take that compliment then! Glad I could make it look as appealing as I can assure you it tastes!

It really was a great time hanging out with the Actifit fam on Friday. Fun to finally be a part of the show! 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

🔥💖💯💖🔥

Posted using Partiko Android

I love oatmeal but mine is very different 🙈
I should try yours as it looks as sounds fantastic! You're a magician, you always have something amazing to show us 😀

Mine is usually pretty simple, but I just wanted something a little bit jazzed up for a change. It definitely didn't disappoint! I got fresh strawberries from the farmers market yesterday, so next up will be some berry variations perhaps. 🍓

Posted using Partiko Android

Looks delicious as always Katie !
I'm off for my first run of 2019 now,

Yay for running again! Hope you are starting to get some nice weather!

Posted using Partiko Android

The meal looks nice and wonderful, so thanks or sharing.

It was indeed! Happy to share it!

Posted using Partiko Android

Do you use agave? It’s super-duper processed, you ever use it?

Morning señor Days! For some reason I never jumped on the agave bandwagon, though for a while I remember it was a really popular sweetener. I do still use maple syrup on occasion because I just enjoy the flavor. Especially with pancakes. 🥞 I don't make pancakes enough, though. Hhmm, I need to work on that....

Posted using Partiko Android

Let me know if you try it, it’s super addicting, goes with anything—really! Seems the only time I ever want maple syrup is on pancakes/waffles, honestly. Maple syrup in coffee, nope! Maple syrup on chocolate, nope! But, that agave stuff, ooh wee! Yes, yes, yes, yes on everything yes!

Hashtag Super-processed.

Looking forward to your pancakes!

So good, a total dessert breakfast without all of the guilt. Dates are truly a super sugar. You can literally create anything sweet using dates in place of sugar. I’m still down for a piece of avocado toast though :)

Haha, well this was first breakfast. That means there's still room for avocado toast for second breakfast or perhaps an afternoon snack...😜

My fave is an açai bowl with a side of avocado toast. It’s the perfect meal, I swear.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73