Food Photography: cherry picking, one of my favorite summer activities

in #food6 years ago

Hi there my Steemit friends and followers!

I will use my entry for today´s #foodphotography contest hosted by @juliank to provide you with a little insight into summer traditions of my homeland, the Czech Republic.

IMG_20180606_161612.jpg

Click on the image for full view

Unlike in tropical and subtropical regions around the world, we only have warm weather during several months and it is in this part of the year (usually from May to September) when we harvest our crops. There are numerous fruits and berries grown in the Czech Republic but few of them are as popular as cherries. Many people have cherry trees in their gardens and backyards but you can also find them in parks, forests and even along the roads.

There are several cultivars of cherries grown here and they differ in size, taste, color but also the harvest period. Some of them are ripe as early as in mid May while others are picked as late as in July. I am not picky at all when it comes to cherries though - I love them all :) Climbing up the tree and eating them right up there is one of my favorite summer outdoor activities.

How about you, my Steemit fellows? Do you like cherries or do you prefer other fruits? Let me know in the comments ;)


Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about #nature, #animals, #traveling and discovering secrets and beauties of the #world, make sure to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about.
If you enjoy my content, feel free to upvote and resteem :) I don’t always follow back but I upvote original and interesting comments on my posts. Have a wonderful day and Steem on!

Sort:  

Cherries are fantastic !

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=phortun
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=food-photography-cherry-picking-one-of-my-favorite-summer-activities


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Cool cherry tree and great photo of it!

Thank you, glad you like it :)

Where I live we have to pick them in the store :-)

Really? You dont grow cherry trees in Norway?

No, where I live in Northern Norway is the summer to short and cold. They grow in Southern Norway.

Ah, makes sense. Then @valth must live in the south of Norway because he is planning to grow his own cherry tree :) Anyway - Norway might not be a fruit superpower but its nature is considered one of the most beautiful in the world. I cannot wait to visit your homeland.

Yes, that is correct. I live a few hours south of Oslo, in an area that is actually pretty hot compared to the average in the region. So there's a lot of apple production here. It should definitely be more than good enough for a cherry tree, but as @harkar says, it will not be possible to grow them very far north.

We have lots of nature:) Welcome to explore Norway. 😊

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-18T08:56:45
Account Level: 5
Total XP: 1749.56/3200.00
Total Photos: 159
Total comments: 226
Total contest wins: 12
And have also received a 2.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Those cherries look amazing @phortun. Like they've been waxed.

I love cherries but the locally grown ones seem to have a really short season and the imported ones are usually extremely expensive.

It most be wonderful for them to be so common that you cold go to into a local part and pick them. Is that allowed? 😊

Oh yeah, there are cherry orchards open to public even in Prague :) You can pick and eat as much as you want :)

I need to remember to make sure it's cherry time then, when I visit Prague @phortun. I'll be in heaven! 😊

Třešně mám rád.Dobře osvěží cyklistu u silnice ;-)

No zrovna ty od silnice moc nemusím (říkáme jim "olověnky" :D) ale jinak mám třešně taky moc rád.

To jo, u hlavní silnice bych je nesbiral :-) Ale někde na vsi, kde projedou dvě auta za den bych se jich nebál. Naštěstí olovnatý benzín už je hezkou řádku let zakázaný ;-)

Oh, such a colorful photo! Those cherries look perfect :-)
It makes me rethink my life decisions the fact I've never tried fresh cherries lol ^^;
I'll keep this in mind when I get the chance to travel ^^. Anyways, great post!

Thank you for this comment, I think most people from Venezuela have never tried cheeries. But you have tons of other fantastic fruits there that we dont have here in Central Europe ;)

Oh, I guess you're right ^-^
And the fact that every place has unique things is what makes them special.
So, the solution is to travel a lot and discover all those things :-)
Keep steeming!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01