Prawn, Mango & Avocado Salad - A Super Fresh, Easy, Summer Recipe!

in #food6 years ago (edited)

So whilst half the word is freezing in a snow storm I thought I'd try and take everyone's mind off it and make a super fresh salad that is easy to whip up and uses in-season ingredients, at least in Australia anyway!

Using In-Season Ingredients = Quality & Cheap!

It took all my strength to not just eat all the ingredients whilst I was chopping them up - I did sneak a couple of bites but hey that's why I bought extra ;) chef's treat! Anyway, I've said it before but I really try and use in-season ingredients when I can because they're fresh, high quality, easy to find and light on the wallet too = win win! Here in Australia mangoes are so cheap ($2ea) as well as strawberries and prawns. These are typical ingredients that adorn our tables in Summer over the festive season (Xmas & NYE) so I wanted to try and extend the festive season a little more...

A super quick recipe, literally 15 mins - less if you can chop faster!

Ingredients

  • Prawns
  • Strawberries
  • Mango
  • Avocado
  • Lettuce
  • Vermicelli noodles (optional - I need my carbs)
  • Sweet chilli sauce, lime, garlic, salt & pepper

Method
Just chop everything up into bite size pieces (except the prawns, I left them whole). If you're adding noodles, cook according to packet directions. Then mix sweet chilli sauce + lime (in a 2:1 ratio), mince 1 garlic and add a pinch of salt & pepper. Chuck it all together...DONE!

How easy was that?

Final Thoughts

I actually think this might be one of my go-to recipes for the duration of our Summer - it was so easy to bring together, was SUPER tasty and was also really fun to make!! I 100% believe in the saying "we eat with our eyes" and this dish was just so fun to eat because it was so colourful. I ate it so fast that I didn't really get to enjoy the colours but hey nothing a second plate can't fix ;)

I really hope you guys enjoyed this recipe, let me know if you try it or if it gives you inspiration!

@phamished xx

All pictures in this post are original and taken by me on my Sony NEX-5N

P.S. I am trying to improve my food photography so I'm doing a bit more "styling" and changing it up a little. Let me know if you like it or nah ;)

Sort:  

wow food loves.. yummy... keep it up

Great food shots, I can tell you're working on your photography. Keep these coming.

Thank you @gringalicious for your words of encouragement! Appreciate you coming by to check out the post :)

@phamished! Thanks for sparing mind for us southern hemispherists haha, beautiful shots of coulour food, I like the styled photography adds yet another flavour to your already tasty recipes :P

Hahaha I’m thoughtful when I need to be 😀😀. But yes it’s easy to take nice photos when there’s such beautiful produce !! Thanks for your support!

I love this kind of dish! Clean and bright flavors. It has a little heat, sweet and sour flavors. Plus, if I'm eating this it is probably summer or at least some place that is warm! Great post!

Me too. I’m all about the combination of sweet, sour, salty and chilli. Typical of many East Asian dishes but the influence of which can be seen in many modern dishes these days. Thanks for coming by!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29