How to Kill That Sweets Craving at Home? Choc Chip Shortbread Cookies of course!

in #food6 years ago

I'm not one for baking but my sister sent me this recipe asking me to please make it and I absolutely love cooking for others - in fact I think I get more enjoyment cooking for others than I do myself so of course I said yes!

You don't make friends with salad but butter + chocolate...?

Granted, this recipe did use a lot of "naughty" ingredients such as butter, chocolate, sugar but what is life without some sweet treats right? I often bake for my work colleagues and I planned to bring these in but between my sister and my husband @ohboy who has the biggest sweet tooth I know, there were only a handful of cookies leftover so unfortunately work missed out! At least I know they were good though as I was quite sceptical starting out because a) I don't bake very well b) I can make cookies but had never attempted to make shortbread before - so I was very pleasantly surprised that they weren't a complete disaster, phew!

They turned out pretty good right?! The way you bake shortbread is quite different to normal cookies as the texture is crumbly as opposed to chewy, not to mention the cookie is usually thicker than what I prefer. Anyway, let's get started!

Recipe

Step One

Cream the butter and sugars together in a standing mixer.

Step Two

Once it's creamed, add the flour, chocolate, pinch of salt and vanilla extract.

Step Three

Tip the mixture out and shape into 2 sausage log shapes. Make sure it's rolled and packed very tightly otherwise when you cut it, it might just crumble and break everywhere and make a mess - I SPEAK FROM EXPERIENCE, IT WAS TRAUMATIC :( - scroll to the bottom to see evidence lol

Refrigerate for a few hours or overnight.

Step Four

Slice into about 1cm thick slices using a very sharp knife with a smooth motion.

Place on a baking tray evenly spaced - I would recommend spacing it even more as mine expanded quite a lot.

Step Five

Into the oven on low (160C) for about 25 minutes (or until brown on the edges) and you're done!

Conclusion

Overall I was really pleased with the cookies, for me personally it didn't change my opinion about shortbread, I really don't prefer the crumbly type of cookie, I like it moist, chewy and gooey. This was too brittle for me but my sister and husband seemed to like it so that's what matters!

I really enjoyed baking these and I found it quite satisfying to roll the mixture into two big logs - I know I'm a big, sad loser if this is the kind of thing that makes me happy but whatever! Each to their own right? ;)

Hope you guys enjoyed this one...until next time!

@phamished xx

ALL PICTURES ABOVE ARE MY OWN TAKEN ON MY SONY RX100 AND SONY NEX-5N...also cooked in my own kitchen which I clean with my tiny, little hands every night to keep it spick and span for the photos!! Someone please badger @ohboy to help me clean more !! I'll send you cookies :)

For shits and giggles here are a few pics of the failed version of this cookie...goes to show that you shouldn't think everything you see online is made perfect every time, the first attempt was a huge #fail but I recovered and restored balance to the force.

Sort:  

Good post. The actual measurements of the ingredients would make it a great post. The cookies look delicious.

Hi @wizardofcheeze ! Haha yes that is a good suggestion, I actually prefer for people to comment and ask me for the exact ingredients and measurements if they’re interested, let’s me know who really is interested...!!

Thanks for the comment!

When I read the first line I thought this was a diet post about how to fight sweet cravings. Then I read on and realized it's about delicious cookies! Thanks for the recipe, looks great and doable. The dough sausage was quite an idea :D

Haha ah actually that’s a fantastic idea! I should write a post about that as I’ve actually got pretty good self control but there’s a few techniques I do use. Maybe for the next one!!

Thanks haha yes the dough sausage made for perfectly round cookies 🤗🤗

Oh my... they can’t be bad! It’s impossible!

Haha true I mean with ingredients like butter, chocolate and sugar it is pretty hard to mess up but knowing my lack of baking skills I didn’t want to jinx it! Thanks for stopping by @kawaiipower great to see you always supporting me 😀😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34