TWO OF MY FAVORITE PERENNIALS - CHIVES & GARLIC

in #food5 years ago

I love plants that keep coming back year after year.


Around here, there is some wonderful wild garlic that runs rampant in the woods. Recently, I decided to move some down to our land. I also found a patch of chives in our old garden that I moved down onto our property.

Since garlic is a plant that can help deter certain pests, we've chosen to plant some around our young fruit tree seedlings. Over time, the garlic will continue to spread and provide "protection" for years to come. In this video I also plant some creeping charlie, which is a very tasty ground cover and also makes a nice tea. Enjoy!

"TWO OF MY FAVORITE PERENNIALS" VIDEO

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-my-favorites

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


Bitcoin (BTC) - 35jP794XJ1yHUaoxuQUXwGPyCuy6zyiQA5

TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Join The @ghscollective On Discord: https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

Wow!! Your homestead is just looking awesome! I love your upcoming food forrest. It's wonderful work you do Papa-pepper! It's just so cool you're planting green plants in December in a t-shirt! That's super cool! Praying your energy stays steady and that you sleep well! It's a great time to build a homestead!!!!! Be blessed🙏

We love both of those!!!

Curious about your wild garlic. We had wild onions growing up in north texas. Since they are wild...they are mostly nameless. Do your wild garlic form cloves and all? Or is it the taste that gives them the garlic name?

Thanks for sharing!!!

They form nice little cloves. If you see those two braids of garlic in the middle of the photo above, they are the same kind that we harvested from out in the woods.

That is very cool indeed!!

I think garlic is the secret to a long life.........Works for me.......Home grown and not the supermarket type made in China.

Some of my favourites too! I have garlic onions that come back year after year they are quite wonderful. Those wild garlics are a wonderful addition to your garden too -nice work ❤️🦋🌈🌴💛

Thank you so much! Glad to hear that you like them too!

The amount of garlic I consume is ungodly. More of a rosemary person than chives though.

companion planting is a great idea.

Really great job! Homestead is coming along beautifully.
The apple trees will be awesome, and you can never have to much garlic.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30