Farm Days Series - Part 1 The Dairy Goats

in #food7 years ago

Last Thursday evening, I had the pleasure of meeting @generikat at our North Idaho Steemit Meetup. During our conversation, the subject of goats came up and it reminded me of the time we had a goat farm.

So I thought I'd share a photo or two and see where this takes us.

We sold the farm, as they say, nearly 5 years ago and started making preparations to move to Southern Chile (I will be writing more about that in subsequent posts). But for this post, I thought a few pics of our goats would be fun to share.

The photo above is of me hanging out with 'Nina,' as we affectionately named her. She was a Nubian dairy goat. Nubians are known for producing great milk.

My thought in starting a goat farm was to produce raw goat milk for human consumption. I'm not here to speak to all the benefits of goat milk, etc, nor to argue with anyone about the taste, etc. My days of arguing with anyone with a different point of view are hopefully behind me (I'm sure I'll be tested on that one.)


The pic above is @gringalicious milking one of our goats

The goats required milking twice per day. My daughters and I ( @uglysweater, @gringalicious, @alovelymess, & @fullofhope ) handled the majority of this while my wife was in charge of storing the milk (huge job by the way, making sure everything is clean, sanitary and the right temperature - huge job).


The pic above is of my daughter @fullofhope holding a baby goat


The pic above is of me milking one of our goats (don't judge)

Through this experience, my family learned a tremendous amount. On of the many things we learned was the value of the food we eat. So much of the 1st world simply goes to a super market and buys all of their food in a package. Very few know what it takes to get real wholesome food from start to finish.

There are many other things we learned, I'll share more of that in subsequent parts or my Farm Days Series.


Of course all of the goats had a name

19 DAYS UNTIL I LEAVE FOR STEEMFEST!!

I HOPE TO SEE YOU THERE


I am so glad to be on this ride with you


Upvote and Follow Me

Sort:  

This post received a 4.15% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @gringalicious! To learn more, check out @randowhale 101 - Everything You Need to Know!

HI there, glad to know about your goat farm. I love cheese from goat milk. Here in Bulgaria we have a lot of villages with goat farms. Keep it up and best of luck :)

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a great comment @koinov, I appreciate it. I'm glad to know the goats are popular in Bulgaria

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Steem is behaving weird in low voting percentages, so actual votes can diverge by up to 1 voting percent point.
Nice, you got a 3.0% @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @gringalicious
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @noboxes to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here! || Click here to participate in the @OriginalWorks sponsored writing contest(125 SBD in prizes)!!!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

I don't judge. Everyone is different and approaches things differently. And you are right. In North America, the vast majority of people go to a supermarket for their food. The children have no idea where the food comes from, except a can or a box. That's why we are homesteading...wholesome food from start to finish.

That's fantastic @cecicastor, I didn't realize you were homesteading. It's an interesting life style for sure. Thanks so much for commenting on my post!

This was fun to read as well as to look at. Milking the goat, that's amazing! See you at SteemFest. Cheers! :)

Ah this is a dream of mine! Goats seem like one type of animal that love to joke around. Such kids!

Oh my friend, reading this post made me remember the days we had some goats like this and we were milking same way you did! My dad was such a great lover of raising goats and cows! Those were great time indeed!

Awe, I'm so glad you shared your family's goatsperience with us all! That picture of you with the Nubian cracked me up, I swear that breed especially has no concept of personal space😜

Definitely enjoyed meeting you all, and I'm really looking forward to reading more of your posts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13