My simple to make Snacks: Mandazis (The African Donut) ๐Ÿ˜‹๐Ÿ˜‹๐Ÿ˜‹๐Ÿ˜‹๐Ÿ˜‹ #1

in #food โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

Welcome Tea and Snacks are ready. Soft, sweet and Delicious. Apologies for making people hungry ๐Ÿ˜œ ๐Ÿ˜‹

Mandazis are simply an African Donut. Can be made in any shape depending on how you cut the dough. As the dough will raise when deep fried any shape looks beautiful if you know just when to remove them from the oil.
So how did I end up with the following beautifully browned Mandazis?

Step One : Getting the Ingredients

We will need the following

  1. 1/2 tablespoon Cinnamon
  2. 1/2 tablespoon cardamoms ( I used ground, but can be substituted for seeds from whole cardamoms)
  3. Sugar ( I don't like so much of it.)
  4. Cup of milk
  5. pinch of nutmeg
  6. a table spoon Vanilla essense
  7. 500gm all purpose flour. (if you use the mandazi flour that we have here omit the baking powder)
  8. 2 teaspoons baking powder
  9. Two eggs. You can add more
    10: Margarine 100 gm

See the ingredients in the photo below

Step 2: The Method

  1. Add the the dry ingredients to a bowl plus the margarine and mix together till well mixed

  1. Add eggs , half the milk (warm) and vanilla in a separate bowl and mix. The rest of the milk will be used if the dough doesn't come together well.
  2. Mix the two mixtures and knead till soft.
    i. How do you know when the dough is ready
    When the dough is ready ( I forgot to take the photo, Pinching it between your hands it is soft and doesn't stick
    to your hands). It is also elastic.
    ii Some people let the dough rest. But since we used baking powder or self raising flour. Going right ahead to the
    next step is okay.
  3. Divide the dough into small balls. I did around 8.
  4. Roll and cut as in the photo below

  1. Deep fry in a big frying pan or a heavy sufuria, Till golden brown all over. (aluminium pot) see below.
    Note: only fry enough pieces, so that they do not touch each other when they float in the oil. That way they brown evenly and uniformly.

  1. When ready remove from the oil and to a bowl or a plate lined with a kitchen towel (paper or your preference) to
    drain any excess oil.
  2. Let them sit and cool down and they are ready to serve.

Step 3: Serving

As mostly Mandazi's are made for breakfast.

  1. Serve them with Tea as I did.

  1. Serve with milk
  2. Serve with a stew

If you decide to try this recipe. Please come back and tell me how it turned out.

For the Kenyans around you are welcome for evening tea.

Thank you for visiting my blog.

Here are some causes and projects I follow and support

Steemit_In_Kenya.png


APP.png

CLICK HERE TO JOIN THE STEEMIT BLOGGERS ON DISCORD


TGP_Light_Banner.jpg


Sort: ย 

Wow these homemade biscuits looks super delicious.....It is more amazing with tea....loved it

Great work Mutitum, keep it up. I, personally didn't know how to make it. Now I will try. Thanks

These sound wonderful! I want to try these sometime! ๐Ÿ˜Š

awesome post, love the step by step process and photography
<3
@battleaxe, going to resteemable this out and get you another vote :)

Thank you.

Congratulations @mutitum! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Wow I didn't know about the existence of these yummy treats! Maybe with some chocolate drizzle on top they would be even tastier!

Yes, my nephew likes applying them Nutella.

Oh yeah that's a good idea as well


wanna bite on to it

I tried cooking them sometime back and I got flat bricks instead of mandazi. I actually forgot to add some baking powder. Hopefully I can make them over the weekend.

Hahahaha. Follow this simple recipe and you will not regret. For baking powder, if you buy the yellow mandazi flour you don't need it.

Your African donuts remind me of the ones my aunt make. I would love to eat them. Lol. Btw, she's currently working in Kenya (which is a beaufiful country with beautiful people). :)

Come visit, it is surely a beautiful country, with beautiful people.

Loved how you broke it down! Worth noting is not to use too much heat. Did that the last time and everything backfired on me ๐Ÿ˜“

Yes I forgot about that. And also how you test if the oil is hot enough. Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86