Why You Need to Create a More Pleasurable Relationship with Food

in #food6 years ago (edited)

eaters-collective-132773-unsplash.jpg

One evening I was eating frozen yogurt with sprinkles and nuts, and noticed something interesting. I had unconsciously pushed the toppings to the side and allowed them to sit there, as if I held them off for someone else.

With every spoonful of yogurt I took, I would add just a few pieces of the sprinkles and nuts. And that was it. Halfway through the cup the I'm-getting-full pangs start happening. By then it was too late.

I saw that what I truly wanted - which was to have a hefty amount of sprinkles and nuts on top of the yogurt - was not going to be enjoyed. I had saved the ''best for last'' but it wasn't going to be what I wanted it to be.

Then it hit me - why am I not eating my favorite parts of the food, first?

I realized if I deprive myself right from the beginning of what I truly want to eat, I am going to screw myself in the end - when I am full and the ''best saved last'' cannot be even enjoyed.

I found that this particular behavior of ''saving the best food for last'' came from my childhood. I would observe how a family member would respond upon receiving a box of chocolates as a gift. They would start eating the chocolate pieces they didn't like first, and save the best for last.

It influenced me to believe (and act upon) the idea that indulging in the good food should be done towards the end of the eating process. Because for some reason, pleasure should be last or withheld as much as possible.

shane-rounce-405329-unsplash.jpg

However, research shows avoiding foods that bring you pleasure can do more harm than good. It can increase your chances of bingeing or overeating and prevent you from creating a healthy relationship with food in general.

The French especially, are known for their eating is pleasure philosophy. They believe that no food is off limits and welcome champagne for lunch. Books such as French Women Don't Get Fat (which I adore) highlight the relaxed attitude of eating foods you love, by balancing exercising (like walking), without depriving yourself.

So, upon seeing this best for last eating-phenomena I lived in myself, I made a decision to try out a new way of eating: Start eating the best foods / food pieces I love first - put the least desired last.

And let me tell you - it has been quite extraordinary when I did this.

By allowing myself to eat what I truly want to eat first, it allowed a new form of self-love to emerge.

I was honoring my own pleasure, and I was putting me first.

Simply turning the tables with what and how I want to eat fueled more enjoyment towards the act of eating itself.

Now I buy chocolate I REALLY like instead of the cheap ones at the store.

For breakfast I sometimes include a croissant with marmalade for a indulgent touch.

In the afternoons when I read, I drink black tea with milk and honey.

sarah-swinton-46119-unsplash.jpg

Keep in mind that indulging in foods that bring pleasure does not mean we can run like chickens with our heads cut off eating whatever we want. With everything in life, moderation and balance is key.

We need to make sure we're not disguising ''eating for pleasure'' to feed an addiction, or as a reason to ignore signs from our body about certain foods not working for us.

From all of this, I implore you to look at how you can make eating food much more pleasurable for you. We tend to sabotage ourselves of this basic necessity because of fears and conflictual information on the internet. So let's instead redefine our relationship with food and pleasure, and start to enjoy life more.

Sort:  

Thank you for this article! I'm so happy I have found it. I'm doing the same: Eating what I really want at the end. I love the facts that you wrote. They sound so logical. I don't know why I haven't tried it before. I'm definitely going to start eating my favourite parts of the meal at the beginning, starting with my next meal today :)

Awesome. I'm so happy this has helped you. Enjoy your new eating journey :)

This is so true! And I never realized I do it until now! There's all these weird little portioning games we play with our food, it's definitely a struggle to just enjoy and be present with every bite!

It's refreshing to know I am not the only one who has these strange food quirks :) Thanks for commenting!

Congratulations @michelleterese! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85