You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Have you tried Bah Kut Teh?

in #food8 years ago

Yum. I've actually had several varieties of this. My mother likes to make a broth with oxtail. Supposedly this is very good for you with the nutrients from the marrow. I like to add scallions, garlic, and celery to mine (sometimes carrots) for a broader taste. This post brings back good memories. :D

Sort:  

I used to have oxtail soup A LOT when I was younger (but from those soup cans). It's actually quite different! Mainly because of the ginseng-thingie and star anise/cinnamon that one adds to this one! And yeah oxtail / pork gives off very different broth flavours too :) . I stopped have oxtail soup when I saw an actual oxtail after ordering it in some restaurant about 15 years ago..

That's so funny! Because I don't mind weird things in my food.
I remember when my aunt cooked fish head soup. My husband (boyfriend at that time) was coming over for dinner. I was so excited. Well, he's a cook and always migrates to the kitchen. He opened the pot lid and saw all the fish heads and eyes, I thought my poor Irishman was going to pass out. LOL Needless to say, he did not have any, but I had a happy belly. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58948.02
ETH 2507.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47