Dare to try a banana arepa

in #food6 years ago

Hello everyone dear Steemians

I want to present a delicious recipe in English version, I hope you enjoy it....

1.PNG

In my country, we have among our traditional dishes the rich arepa a dish based on corn flour, quite rich and versatile, because it is the perfect competition of bread, has many options to accompany, however today I want to present a different recipe, as the main ingredient is the banana, let's see how the preparation...

Hands on the Job...

Ingredients:

3 small ripe bananas

Salt to taste

Cinnamon to taste

1 cup corn flour

2.PNG

The procedure is quite simple, the first thing I do is to wash the bananas very, very well, since they go to the pot with their shell (as we say here) to that process we call boiling, which is nothing more than placing the bananas in a pot with enough water with medium to high flame to cook. The bananas are cut off the ends and discarded, we cut into small pieces as shown below.... and after ten minutes of cooking we remove the peel

3.PNG

We place them in a large bowl where you can move the mixture, with the help of a fork we begin to crush until it looks like a paste or cream, we add salt to taste, a touch of cinnamon, a little water (I used the one left in the pot) just a little bit, because the banana already brings good hydration, we mixed

4.PNG

We add the cup of flour and mix, the idea is to have a homogeneous dough without lumps, a very good fact to know if the dough is in its point, is when it does not stick to the walls of the container.

5.PNG

I tried putting grated cheese on the dough, this is a cheese that is made on the Venezuelan plain, with the milk of the cow, is widely used on the tables of Venezuelans, it gives a great touch to the arepa ready, the sweet contrast (banana) / salty (cheese) gives it a different flavor, this is optional, so you can make it without the cheese

6.PNG

Once the dough is ready, take a sufficient amount to make a ball (to fit your hand) and give it a rounded shape, just like the arepas that we normally prepare in our country.

7.PNG

We put it in a very hot frying pan, with a medium flame, as it is a sweet mixture that cooks and tends to burn very quickly.

8.PNG

After a few minutes, your arepa is ready, fill it with what you like and... enjoy!

9.PNG

After a few minutes, your arepa is ready, fill it with whatever you like, here I used ham and cheese leg, they were divine!

As you can see it is a very simple recipe, in addition the banana is a great carrier of vegetable energy and fiber, is an antidepressant, helps to improve the digestive system, is a source of vitamins and minerals, does not contain fat and can provide 105 calories approximately, contains iron, helping to combat anemia, potassium that this contains helps with acne, rashes, dry skin and even combat wrinkles! Here's more than one reason to start eating it, kids love it, so it's part of a complete family meal.

I hope you liked it and can try it out very soon, I hope to see you in the next one...

My mother tongue is Spanish, so for this translation I help myself www.deepl.com, the photos are my own.

Sort:  

Good option at the time of combining the sweetness of the banana with the attractive flavor of the ham, I will try, thanks for sharing.

Thanks to you for the comment.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-10T22:37:18
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 148.60/200.00
Total Photos: 23
Total comments: 22
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

A sandwich made with two banana pancakes?

Yummy!

Namaste, JaiChai

A good description, thank you.

looks delicious @melvadg! :) I'll try it some time but I prefer to put ice cream instead of ham and cheese. :D

I love candy, so it's a good option!

I think I ate something similar in the Caribbeans but it had a different name. Also instead of bananas they used plantain. Anyway, I imagine it can only be delicious. ;0)

I'm glad, thank you very much.

Hmmm... As a person living in Malaysia in South East Asia, I have all the ingredients needed for your recipe... I'll have to try to arepa soon.

I never mashed cooked banana with flour before!! This is new to me!!

I'm glad you can get the recipe, it's a bit of a sweet recipe, I hope you like it.

Uhmm ya es que pongo en práctica esa receta! Gracias

Wow. That looks really good. So essentially it's a flat bread, but then you split and make a sandwich out of it with ham or whatever you like? It was interesting that you boiled the bananas first, rather than maybe frying them mashed. I guess it must make the texture better?

Anyway, looks really good. One of these days I'll have to try it. What would be similar to Venezuelan cheese, since I'm not even sure I can get that here? We do have Mexican cheeses. I haven't actually looked around for anything else.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by melvadg from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70223.87
ETH 3561.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73