Savory Spaghetti Sauce In Bacon

in #food7 years ago

This summer I am just too lazy to do gardening. So nothing going on in my backyard. The only plants I have that are still alive are rosemary and oregano and that was from last summer.

But all the sudden, a friend of mine gave me some fresh tomatoes from her backyard. She said it's too many and the tomato plants just keep producing a lot more. So, I'm going to make some spaghetti sauce for myself and also to give some back to her.

s.JPG

My own original recipe.
Prep Time: 15 minutes / Cook Time 45 minutes

Ingredients:

3 1/2 cups baked tomatoes
1/2 cups diced bacon
1 cup chopped onion
2 cloves garlic-chopped
6 bay leaves
2 tbsp dried basil
2 tbsp dried oregano
1 can (12 oz) of tomato paste
2/3 cups grated parmesan cheese
Olive oil
Salt and black pepper

Method:

As I told you guys, I'm a little bit lazy and I'm not going to peel all the tomatoes because the heirloom tomatoes It's just too much and too small to peel. So I'm gonna go head cut it, drizzle with some olive oil, salt and black pepper then bake it until they look wilted. Mashed it by using a potato masher. I bake the tomatoes because that way it is easier and don't need to simmer too long,

Heat the wok or pot in a medium heat and fry the bacon with no oil since it's going to produce oil anyway. Fry it until it's brown and set aside. Using the same pot, add the garlic and onion and saute until fragrant.

Add the mashed tomato and simmer a long with, dried oregano, dried basil, salt, pepper, bay leaves, and cooked bacon until it's boil. Add the tomato paste and keep stirring it so it won't get burn on the bottom, finally add the grated parmesan cheese little by little. Mix it well and keep it cool before you store it, I used to freeze it if it's too much and can't finish eating in a week.

o.JPG

IMG_0686.JPG

These are tomatoes from my friend.

IMG_0742.JPG

Rosemary from last summer.

IMG_0740.JPG

Oregano from last summer

IMG_0741.JPG

A small strawberry patch with no strawberry at all.

Sort:  

Looks good and having your own original recipes for something you like is more satisfying when you make it, especially if others love it.

Yup, that's true. Thank you btw.

Not a problem :)

This post has received a 1.84 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @lugina.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23