Let the harvest begin - gardening progress and photos!

in #food7 years ago (edited)

I've been "watching my garden grow" and today we had the first cucumber harvested. We've been using the herbs for weeks now and there are plenty of green tomatoes, but until today there were only a few strawberries.

We ate this with our dinner tonight!

IMG_3090.jpg



Here's what the garden looked like on June 4th
IMG_2458.jpg


Today, you can see lots of growth and progress....getting hungry?

You can see lots of not-yet-ripe tomatoes.
Another week or so before any of those will ripen.

We planted several different varieties


This looks promising ....

Hopefully all these little flowers yield lots of veggies!


Thanks for stopping by. Please feel free take a look at my other posts and you can see the progress.

All Images taken by @lrich with my Canon EOS Rebel T6i with Tamron 18-250mm f/3.5-6.3 Di II LD Aspherical Macro lens and Tamron 90mm f/2.8 Di VC USD Macro F017 lens.

Bonus Pic - Marigolds help keep the rabbits away

IMG_3132.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations on your healthy garden! Marigolds will also bring the bees and butterflies to pollinate those flowers for lots more veggies! Yay for your garden!

You can also eat them, the flower petals can be used in salads to add a kick and a splash of color.

That's true...I'm staying away from fertilizers and pesticides so we have weeds and bugs...but that's ok with me!

My cukes are still tiny and my tomatoes are not even close yet ....I have picked a few potatoes, all my onions and all of my garlic so far this season. Nothing beats homegrown veggies. Great post @lrich, thanks for sharing !

Yeah, we were really rainy for a while, now its crazy hot. But it's all good!

Hi @lrich, such an exciting time when home gardens start providing their first harvests. Happy to find another gardening enthusiast here on Steemit - you've got a new follower. :-)

thank you @steempowergarden, following you back!

Nice garden spot. Everything looks healthy and green. Starting high 90s heat here in Virginia so things are really getting beaten down now. Thanks for sharing.

@saved4newlife, yeah the heat has been back in NJ as well. I usually let nature handle the watering but I have a sprinkler on the garden now. Good Luck!

Yeah I hate for it to get too hot. I'm from N.J. originally. Morristown.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63900.26
ETH 3063.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.21