A GIFT for all Steemians! - I Present: Mother Lovejoy's LEGENDARY Rhubarb Bars - (Complete Instructions)

in #food6 years ago

Ladies and gentlemen of the Steem blockchain... we have arrived once again at that magical time in the dark of winter here in the Northern Hemisphere.


I didn't want to let the moment pass without offering you all a very special present, one which can begin to convey the sense of gratitude I feel for all of you intrepid pioneers who have come together to make this such a special place.

So... I meditated on it... and I determined that I wanted to share with you one of the most magical recipes from my mother's recipe collection.

And so I present to you...

...with visual cues from the woman herself...

Mother Lovejoy's LEGENDARY Rhubarb Bars


Here's what you're going to need.

Ingredients  
3 Cups Rhubarb1½ C Quick Oats1½ C All-Purpose Flour
1 C Brown Sugar1½ White Sugar2 Sticks Margarine ( minus 2 Tbsp )
¾ C WalnutsDash of Salt½ tsp Baking Soda
¼ C Water2 Tbsp Corn Starch

Add the rhubarb, sugar, cornstarch and water to a medium saucepan and heat on medium while stirring until the mixture is broken down and beginning to thicken.

Remove the rhubarb mixture from heat and allow to cool. You can set it in a bowl with some water and ice if you're in a hurry.

Add the salt, cornstarch...

oats...

margarine...

brown sugar...

flour...

and walnuts, to a large mixing bowl.

Stir it all up, real good like. :)

You're going to need a 7 x 9 inch baking pan.
Coat with oil, or spray some sort of non-stick cooking spray in it.

Pour in the dry ingredient mixture.

Press the mixture evenly into the pan.

Spread rhubarb sauce on top...

...so that it covers the whole surface evenly.

Bake at 350° F (177° C) for 25 minutes.

Remove your magical rhubarb creation from the oven and allow to cool until near room temperature, or as long as you can manage to wait!

And voila! - You now have some of the most scrumptious treats in the world!!

Please enjoy Mother Lovejoy's LEGENDARY Rhubarb Bars responsibly

( Share with friends and family! )

I wish I had some photos of the finished and cut bars, but they just got eaten too fast!

I hope you enjoy this magical creation as much as I do!

Best Wishes, and Happy Narwhalidays Steemians!

Peace, and @lovejoy

Sort:  

looks yummylicious ! thanks for sharing with recipe !! Mouth watering my friend !
Happy Christmas and Happy holiday !

Thanks! Yummylicious for sure :) Happy holidays!

You are welcome ! Happy new year !!

Those look really good. I've had it in a pie, but need to try those bars!

Oh, I love rhubarb pie! But the bars are something else altogether... :) Let me know how they turn out if you make them! Happy Holidays @donkeypong!

Yum, rhubarb is the best and these unicorn whales too. I am sure they go well with vanilla sauce, ahhhhh!

Wow this looks really good! We usually make either jelly or pies out of the ones we have in the backyard! But next season I will definitely try this recipe!

Il reetweet this so I easily can find the recipe!

Thanks! Yeah, rhubarb is great in so many ways... But the bars are just to die for. Hope you find this recipe again next year! :)

Fellow Minnesotan here! Love me some rhubarb anything! Thanks for the recipe!

Right on! Our numbers are growing. Somewhere underneath all of the snow, the rhubarb is lurking. ;)

I love simple and delicate dishes!

I can't wait to try this. I bet those who are gluten free can easily make this with GF flour.

nice post! follow back and don't forget upvote :)

Lovely! Thank you for sharing! ☺

Wow this great thanks for sharing keep up the good work

Very important article that all of us need to know. Thanks for sharing the information with us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62379.78
ETH 3034.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78