Breakfast of Champions - Kimchi Avocado Toast!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago

HI Steemians -

I'm sharing my favorite, go-to breakfast that fuels me up for a busy day! Honestly, this toast is so hearty it could be eaten for lunch too!

kimchiavotoast.jpg

How can I claim the breakfast of champions status?

Isn't it just like every other avocado toast?

Nope! Let's take a look..

ezgif.com-gif-maker.gif

Bread

Homemade, sprouted bread would be preferred, but I have Ezekial Sprouted Whole Grain bread. Not my favorite for flavor, but nutritionally speaking it's pretty good. It doesn't taste bad, but it ain't no sourdough!

My favorite store bought bread is made from Silver Hills, a Canadian company that uses non-GMO ingredients & they make a pretty good sourdough.

Avocado

Obviously the star of the show here & for good reason! Avocados are full of good fats & fiber - exactly what you want to start the day feeling happy & full! Not only that, avocados contain all 18 essential amino acids & contains over 14 minerals - that sounds like champion material to me!

Kimchi

Oh Kimchi, how I love thee! No, but really, I'm obsessed. By adding this awesome, fermented condiment to your toast, you're also sending lots of love in the form of good bacteria to your gut.

I try to eat fermented veggies with one of my meals everyday instead of taking a probiotic pill. I could seriously write a whole separate post about how essential it is to maintain good gut health for your overall health. If you haven't looked into the Mind-Gut connection you should check it out - it's pretty fascinating.

Raw Onion

While probiotics are starting to get their deserved attention in the world, pre-biotics are still undervalued, imo. They act as fuel for the good bacteria in your gut & work with probiotics to keep more of the good guys in there. Raw onion is an exellent source of pre-biotics & it adds a nice crunch to the toast!

Sprouts

These little guys aren't just for looks, they're a nutritional powerhouse in a tiny package. They're full of enzymes & fiber that contribute to digestion. They also contain a significant amount of vitamins & minerals - Vitamin C, A, & K as well as manganese, magnesium, copper, zinc, & calcium to name a few. I also like to put these on my salads & sandwhiches.

Extras

I like spice up my avo toast with some crushed red pepper, smoked paprika, a dash of salt & pepper, & a drizzle of sriracha! When I don't want it spicy, I usually add a drizzle of olive oil. I also added fresh cilantro to go with the whole spicy flavor profile.

You don't have to stop there..

A couple of pieces of this Kimchi Avocado toast is usually all I need to get going, but sometimes you just need to add an egg to it - that's a thing, right? Now you have a Kimchi Avocado SANDWICH.

BAM.

Snapseed (11).jpg

Hope you have an AWESOME day!! :)

Lindsey

Sort:  

Funny I just posted about avocado toast today too! Your version looks much tastier I will definitely need to try this yummmm!!!

Haha so crazy!! We both even said it was our "go-to" lol nice to see another avo toast lover! Following you now! :)

Great minds think alike 😋 I know right haha parallel lives this morning! Just followed you as well...thanks Lindsey:)

My stomach growled at me to upvote after the last pic. XD

GET. IN. MY. MOUTH.

You should write about kimchi and other probiotic foods. Nice article. Resteemed, upvoted and followed!

I think I will! Thank you for the support! :)

Nice pictures, following you now :)

Thanks! Following you too! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63576.35
ETH 3066.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80