You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Why I Got Stiffed" Guy's Waiter Blog chapter 5

in #food8 years ago

Great post. You have gained a follower! I used to work in a bunch of kitchens so I have seen the other side. I was however, a busboy at my first job. Thinking back, isn't it funny the routines you go through?

I used to ask the same thing, the same way, at least a couple hundred times a night. Only slightly altering it to tailor to my crowd. I always tried to make people laugh. I knew what jokes would work with what people.

One time I made the mistake of asking, "what can I get you guys to drink" to a couple of ladies. They demanded to see my manager because "they weren't guys".

There were other times I screwed up bad. Like the one time, I poured coffee in a guy's lap because the teenage version of me was staring at his date's breasts. He simply just brushed it off.

Many people are very forgiving but some just love to fight.

Anyway, can't wait to see what you come up with in the future!

Sort:  

Thanks much for the follow, much appreciated. Yup you nailed it - you have to tailor your lines, jokes, approach, etc as you go, no one size fits all routines cover everyone. I can relate to all that you detailed! Following you as well - Best, Guy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86