Crêpes Suzette

in #food5 years ago

619A2813.jpg

Happy Maslenitsa 🥞

Wait, is this the first time I actually did make some blini for Maslenitsa?! I think it might as well be, wow . . .
Last year I was able to catch the last day of crepe week or something like that, or I made some right after, so embarrassing! Well, this year I am doing way way better and starting the week right 💯


619A2838.jpg

Ingredients

for the batter:

  • 3 eggs;
  • 500 ml milk;
  • 200 g flour;
  • a pinch of salt;
  • 2 tb. spoons sugar;
  • 50 g butter (melted);
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla.

for the Suzette sauce:

  • orange zest from 2 oranges;
  • pulp from one orange;
  • juice from 2 large oranges;
  • 4tb. spoons butter;
  • 50 g sugar;
  • 50 ml Grand Marnier.

619A2825.jpg

Directions:

Not gonna write down how to make the batter for crepes, you pretty much mix all of the ingredients together and fry them on both sides, just like pancakes, straight forward and simple.

The Suzette sauce.
In a sauce pan melt butter and sugar. Once the mixture starts to brown add in orange juice, pulp and zest, stir well. Reduce the heat and cook until sugar is completely liquefied.

Then add in Grand Marnier or any cognac of your choice, let the alcohol evaporate.

Then fold the crepes into triangles and place into the skillet, cook in the Suzette sauce for about a minute on each side. You can also brush the crepes with the sauce before folding them.

Enjoy!

619A2844.jpg

The images were taken with a Canon EOS 5D Mark III and a Canon EF 50mm - F/1.8 lens.

kotturinn-2.png
artwork by kookyan

Sort:  

и даже апельсины вырезала фигурно, вот не лень жеж))

Не-а :) я просто обрезала кожу апельсина по краям хахаха

looks delicious! @evecab: we should try this at home!

Quick question, can we use almond milk or soy milk instead of cow milk?

Posted using Partiko Android

I hope you guys enjoy these! Thanks :)

You probably can? I am not sure, but if I were you I would look up vegan crepe recipes just to make sure you're using the right thing and the right proportions :)

Well ain't you just soooo fancy.

A little bit 👅

Looks really good, and beautiful pictures as always.

Thank you Joey, it was super good too, you guys should make these sometime!

I didn't even knew this dish also exists.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, there are a lot of new good recipes out there :)

Crepes suzette are my favorite. Any time of the year. Love your post and your photos:)

Posted using Partiko Android

And what's maslentisa? Does it have sth to do with the Easter fast? Thanks :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi! It was actually the first time I made crepes Suzettes, they're super delicious, will have to make them more often :) thanks!

Maslenitsa is an Eastern Slavic religious and folk holiday, celebrated during the last week before Great Lent, that is, the eighth week before Eastern Orthodox Pascha.

This is what I got from Wikipedia, so I guess you just eat a bunch of crepes and put on some weight before the fast hahaha

I am from Macedonia and we have sth similar too. One week before the lent. Thanks :) I learned sth new

Posted using Partiko Android

Awesome! I just know it used to be a pagan holiday and now it's sort of tied to orthodox Easter celebrations and falls on different date every year. I don't fast though haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34