Dried Fish Bones And Danggit Fresh From Bantayan Island

in #food6 years ago

Hello there Steemians!

It has been so long now since I last visited Bantayan Island in Cebu, Philippines. Apart from the pristine white sand beaches that the island caters, they are also known with their "buwad" delicacies. Plenty of vendors from the island have a variety of buwad that buyers could choose from.

"Buwad" is what we call a dried fish in the Cebuano dialect.

Recently, my sister together with her friends went to Bantayan Island to celebrate their friend's birthday. They stayed there over the weekend since it was a long weekend due to the holiday last June 15. When she got home, she brought a few packs of buwad that we could enjoy from. There is the most popular danggit, tasty dried fish bones, and then there's a tocino-flavored dried fish.

I was not able to cook the tocino-flavored one. I thought this could suffice my craving, for now,.

2018-06-20 20_52_54-Greenshot.png

The kind of breakfast that I missed.

One of my favorite breakfast that I used to indulge before, in the morning after a graveyard shift was the "dangsilog" meal. It consists of danggit, scrambled or sunny side up egg, and a cup of rice. I so missed this kind of meal.

This morning I decided to cook the dried fish bones and danggit. There's no egg on the side because I cooked vegetable soup.

So I thought this could make a good pair with the dried fish.

2018-05-08 19_57_46-Greenshot.png

I did have a full tummy after. Insert a cup of rice to this menu and you've got yourself a full meal. I bet you might want to add more cups of rice for this, as much as I did.

2018-06-20 20_54_37-Greenshot.png

PhotoGrid_1508745993775.jpg

Please UPVOTE, FOLLOW, and RESTEEM!

steemitgif.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30