#whatscookingchallenge - Cayenne Chilli New York Sirloin Bowl with Sweet Bell Peppers, Roasted Asparagus and Cucumber Ribbons

in #food6 years ago

20180525_214748.jpg

❤ Ola Foodies ❤

It is always awesome to have steak nights and the other night was no different,
except that I decided to do things a little differently...
Essentially, I served everything upside down hahaha... yep...

#whatscookingchallenge - Cayenne Chilli New York Sirloin Bowl with Sweet Bell Peppers, Roasted Asparagus and Cucumber Ribbons

🍴

I always enjoy steak night because firstly, I know the man will be happy and secondly, steaks are super easy and quick, but sometimes I get tired of serving things in the traditional manner - so I decided to spice things up a little the other day... literally! haha...

So, first of all you will need the steaks. In this instance I bought two
New York sirloins. I have mentioned this before, but will make mention of it again... it is quite important to allow the steaks to reach room temperature before you griddle them - so take them out of the fridge at least two hours before you are wanting to cook them. The other thing, is not to add the salt and pepper rub too soon because the salt draws all the juices out of the meat. So, I normally do the rub about 15 minutes (or less) before smacking them into the griddle pan.

20180525_184145.jpg

On this occassion, I kept the rub really basic as I was going to be serving the steaks with cayenne pepper sauce. So the rub literally consisted of salt, pepper and olive oil. I generally just put that all onto a plate and then place the steaks onto the plate and coat them on both sides by rubbing them into the mixture on the plate...

20180525_183217.jpg

20180525_183600.jpg

20180525_184322.jpg

Heat the griddle on the stove to a VERY high heat and when ready, you can throw the steaks in. The heat needs to be REALLY high in order to get those fantastical griddle marks... in fact, I didn't wait long enough this time around, so the griddle marks weren't the best but hey - you can't win them all lol. I like a RARE steak, so I do them for two minutes a side and then finish off by crisping up the fat, but you can obviously cook the steak to your own preference.

20180525_185119.jpg

Once the steaks were done,
I set them one side and flash fried the asparagus.
Once that was done, I placed them in a cup and into a low heat oven
just to allow the excess oil to drip off as well as to keep them warm.

20180525_185718.jpg

20180525_185851.jpg

20180525_190648.jpg

Then it was time to make the cayenne sauce, which is essentially a basic white sauce with a couple of additives - namely being cayenne chillies and plenty of garlic!

20180525_191551.jpg

20180525_191812.jpg

20180525_192010.jpg

20180525_192318.jpg

Because the sauce had a serious kick in it, I thought that serving it with a bit of cool down would be wise lol, so I chopped up some fresh yellow and red sweet bell peppers and also grated some cucumber ribbons.

20180525_193154.jpg

The sauce is traditionally served over the steak or on the side, but this time I decided to do things a little differently. I selected a plate that was "bowl like" and poured the sauce onto the plate first. I then added the steak and then all the toppings. I was thrilled with the aesthetic outcome and the I do have to say... it was a superbly tasty dish!!!! Definitely a DO AGAIN! haha :)

20180525_215017.jpg

20180525_215007.jpg

20180525_215027.jpg

ENJOY!!!!

🍴

……

Until next time...
Much Love from Cape Town, South Africa xxx

Steemit logo Jaynielea.png

FOUNDER OF THE @STEEMITBLOGGERS

Steemit Bloggers


oh... and have you met my little man? @judethedude

ezgif.com-resize.gif

Sort:  

Greetings, sweet and dear Jayne

How are you??? Your post came to handy, because, I'm dieting to lose weight. I only 1 time every two weeks. Today, coincidentally, have emerged. I ate a few things that get fat, aside from having a beer. I ate sweet and savoury foods. I love the food that has posted, with beef, peppers and broccoli. I thought it was very tasty. I don't know what your thinking, but I think meat ultra super tasty hehehe. I like simple meats. Kibbeh, inclusive. I don't know what it's like in your country, but here in Brazil kibbeh is a widespread Arab recipe. I think delicious meat.

Thank you for posting and good afternoon!!

@julisavio I am a big fan too! Thank you for the lovely feedback and for the support. Good luck with the diet!!! 😎👍

Steak peppers and asparagus? Oh my, that's a dish right after my own heart!

That is how I cook my steaks and asparagus with extra virgin olive oil with kosher salt and pepper.
This looks so good..... guess I will have to cook some tomorrow.

@bigblueleadsled hope you enjoy it!!! 😎

aw this looks really delecious dear @jaynie, love to taste it

That is how I cook my steaks and asparagus with extra virgin olive oil with kosher salt and pepper.
This looks so good..... guess I will have to cook some tomorrow.

food is very tasty and delicious friend, I really like food, my friend need support and help from you my friend @jaynie

Great food photography! It isn't easy to get the colors right and make everything look appetizing but this had my mouth watering!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

@c-squared wonderful. Thank you very much! 😍

When will I see you on dtube!?!?!?!?! or Dlive?!?!??!

@alphasteem most likely never.... lol 😎

it looks so tasty even for me, but I am vegetarian already many-many years))))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27