Look out for Sprout - My prediction on this stellar fast casual

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Sprout Rice and Noodles Vietnamese Eatery has what it takes to become the Chipotle of Vietnamese food (before all that Chipotle food poisoning drama, obviously). From the clean, sleek layout, to the quick preparation, and absolute delicious food, this fast-casual restaurant is The Gem of Lancaster, Pennsylvania. I would be at this place several times a week for lunch if it weren't several hours from my house.

dJI6A0401.jpg

Upon entering Sprout, you are greeted with this bright, but not too bright green wall, with clean lettering. Everything in this order-at-the-counter is labeled neatly. The place is so organized. I can't imagine what the owner's linen closet must look like.

dJI6A0393.jpg

They have a few kid's menu options, but the focus of the menu is on pho soup and vermicelli salad bowls. The friendly and patient man taking our order recommended the vermicelli salad bowls because they are a cool dish for a very hot day.

Cool rice vermicelli noodles over shredded lettuce, carrots, scallions, chopped peanuts, mint, friend garlic slices, and cilantro, topped with seasoned pork and served with fish sauce. Good Lord this was so good.

We also shared an order of fresh spring rolls with shrimp and pork. My husband got crispy spring rolls on his noodle salad bowl too.

dJI6A0397.jpg

dJI6A0402.jpg
Chili sauce and hoisin sauce, of course

dJI6A0395.jpg

Here's a peek at their noodle bowl menu, in case you're wondering what other treats you might find:

sprout menu.jpg
Image Source

They have a little dessert case up front with some fine looking sweets.

dJI6A0394.jpg

Even the water they provide at the counter has hints of mint and lime. My kind of place.

From the bright and clean interior, to the fresh and delicious food at very reasonable prices, this place is a winner in my book. They didn't even scold me when one of my children was caught standing on the table, and they had recommendations for a nearby park once we were finished with our meals.

dJI6A0396.jpg

dJI6A0403.jpg

Great service and excellent food makes Sprout Rice and Noodles Vietnamese Eatery a place that should expand - if nowhere else but the Washington D.C. area. (Sorry I'm selfish). If any restaurant becomes the next fast-casual Vietnamese eatery, it deserves to be Sprout.

dJI6A0399.jpg

dJI6A0411.jpg
Don't panic, nothing in this bowl went to waste.


Thanks for reading! If you enjoyed this post, check out my other food and recipe posts:


All content and photos by @jaymorebeet unless source is listed, taken on 6/28/2017 using a Canon EOS 7D MarkII.

Sort:  

Nice post @jaymorebeet! The food looks very appetizing and the prices seem very reasonable.

Up-voted and entered on Jerry Banfield's Upvotable Day3

Ahhh I'm blushing! Thanks so much @cognoscere! Also, I highly recommend Sprout, by the way, if you can't tell by my post. I might have to revisit Lancaster again soon!! Thanks again :)

That's awesome @cognoscere
I love seeing great steemians paying it forward with boosts like this :)

I love Vietnamese food and you can't get it where I live! Your pictures make me want to hop on a plane and head out for a great meal!

Oh man!! I would shrivel up if i couldn't access it. Here's a plan for you - get a new credit card, load it up and use your miles to fly to this restaurant. On second thought that's probably not very responsible....

Ha! Right. Especially since I should be paying down debt right??? Oh wait I'm looking at new flooring for the house...yep I wil be incurring debt either way! At least your way I will get to eat!

Yess!! Excellent plan then- 2 birds with one stone, err... hefty credit card bill!

Looks soo delicious.
I love eating.

Hahaha I love eating too!! It was sooo good!!!

Looks so good! I haven't had any Vietnamese food other than pho, probably should try something else haha I'm pretty into Thai though

Man the vermicelli noodle bowls are awesome - so fresh and light. Is there good vietnamese near you? I love Thai too but i haven't found a place nearby yet...Guess I gotta look. Love me some spicy spicy food!

Agreed! I know of a couple Vietnamese places around here but I've only been to one and it is mainly just soup their other foods don't look that good haha

Ahhh definitely scope out a really good hole in the wall and THEN proceed with trying the new things hahaha.

That make me hungry i love eating at Pho, i wish we had that here!

Ah no! So many people without pho nearby!! I see an opportunity to open up a restaurant!!

Oh wow those dishes look so good!
I would totally eat at Sprouts if there was one in the area. Really nice food photography too. And now I'm going to have to root around my fridge for something to eat and nothing is gonna be good enough! LOL

Ahh sorry bout that!! I wish I had one closer too!! I want to write to them and see if they have plans to expand. Maybe pester them a bit :)

Maybe they have a website for locations that are coming soon?

I took a look and they don't mention it on their website, but I sent a link to their facebook page of my steemit post, so maybe they'll consider!! Good idea!

Congratulations @jaymorebeet! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

@jaymorebeet ... we love pho soup 🍜 thanks for this great post... now I'm hungry!! Up-voted and re-steemed because it's phobulous 😜

P.s. I must tell my wife about this restaurant because she is in Lancaster from time to time for work.

Hahaha yess!!! Pho is the best! I've made my own broth before and it actually turned out great! Started with some humungous cow femurs...all that marrow goodness in the broth....yum yum.. Maybe i'll make it soon and post a recipe! Thanks @beyondmountains!

DELICIOUS!! I want. I want :) How does Sprout handle adding spice for the mainstream crowd? Do they tell you what will be super spicy? Or do they just provide you with the spice and let you add as needed?

Well typically, the vermicelli salad bowls and pho are not spicy on their own. It's the amount of spicy sauce and sliced jalapenos that you add, depending on your taste, that add the kick. So this type of food is actually perfect for people who like it hot and for people who don't, like my Grandma, alike!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13