Solve a mystery? what is in the filling?

in #food6 years ago

Hi Steemit Friends,

Happy Sunday.

I think I have found some gems today. These pastries are ones I have had similar at Kyoto and I can't believe I found them at the store. The only thing is I am not sure what the dark item is inside but the pastry on the outside is definitely something I have tried before and it was delicious especially the green tea ones.

There was no sample to try - if anyone can tell me what is inside, that would be great.

But I know the outside is a nice pastry.

IMG_5345.JPG

All photos belong to @Japanguide unless stated

Please follow me for more recommendations for Japan.

Sort:  

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Chunky sweet red bean paste. It is called "an" in japanese.

thanks very much - that is what i thought but the display make it look not look like red bean so I was confused

The sweet is called “Yatsuhashi” 八つ橋 and the filling is normally a red or dark bean paste called “anko”. Looks like the stuff in the picture is Green Tea and Chinese Cinamon flavored.
Recently you can get all kind of fillings, like banana or chocolate, or some more Japanese like stuff.

my guess was red bean as that is what most fillings usually is but the color of the display doesn't look right. yes I have seen banana around but I think the flavour would be very funny

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87